Honorary graduates

Nine outstanding individuals and alumni  received honorary degrees in December 2013.

Terry Morgan (MSc Engineering Production, 1978)
Terry’s numerous high-profile roles include Chairman  of Crossrail and Non-Executive Chairman of the  Manufacturing Technology Centre and the National  Skills Academy for Railway Engineering. He began  his career in the automotive industry and is a former
MD of Land Rover vehicles.


Dame Julie Moore

A graduate nurse who worked in clinical practice  before moving into management, Dame Julie was  appointed Chief Executive of University Hospitals  Birmingham in 2006.

Anne Wood CBE

Anne is the Founder of Ragdoll Productions, a  television production company which has made more  than 1,500 programmes aimed at very young viewers  including double BAFTA-winning In the Night Garden.

Adrian Shooter

Adrian joined British Rail as an Engineering  Management Trainee in 1970, starting an illustrious  career in the rail industry spanning more than  40 years, which led to him becoming MD of Chiltern  Railways in 1993 and Chairman in 2002.

Adrian Lester OBE 

Leading actor and director of stage and screen, Adrian  played the title roles in Othello and Henry V at the  National Theatre, and Hamlet, directed by Peter Brook.  Hollywood movies include Primary Colours and The  Day After Tomorrow. In Britain, Adrian is well known  for playing Mickey Bricks in the successful BBC  series Hustle.

Deborah Cadbury

Deborah is an Emmy award-winning journalist and  historian who has also worked as a BBC producer  for 30 years. She has written seven non-fiction books,  including The Lost King of France; and a seven-part  drama documentary series, Seven Wonders of the  Industrial World [2003], all of which have been  critically acclaimed.

Guy Look (BCom Industrial Economics and  Business Studies, 1979)

Guy has more than 30 years’ experience in local and  overseas financial and general management, and was  named by Asiamoney as Best Executive in Hong Kong  2012. He is Vice-Chairman of the Hong Kong Retail  Management Association.

Professor Peter Leslie Weissberg  (MBChB Medicine, 1976; MD Medicine, 1985)

Peter is Medical Director of the British Heart Foundation,  where he oversees funding for more than half the  cardiovascular research undertaken in UK universities.

Professor Sir Kenneth Murray FRS  (BSc Chemistry, 1956; PhD, 1959; Hon DSc, 1995)  and Professor Lady Noreen Murray CBS FRS  (PhD Microbiology, 1959; Hon DSc, 1995)

Sir Kenneth’s research into DNA and Lady Noreen’s  into fungal genetics led to them creating the first  vaccine against viral hepatitis B, saving a countless  number of lives around the world. The couple  met at Birmingham and their support for scientific  postgraduate scholarships at the University saw them  posthumously inducted in 2013 into the Chancellor’s  Guild of Benefactors, the greatest honour the  University can bestow on a donor.