Membership of Council 2013/14

The University's Council is made up of 24 members drawn from the University's management, academic and student communities and the lay community.

Council consists of the following members:

16 Lay Members

Mr Derrick Anderson CBE
Mr Chris Banks CBE - Deputy Pro-Chancellor
Mr David Davies OBE
Mr Martin Devenish
Dr Mike Gilbert - Treasurer
Mr Robert Halton
Mr Richard Haywoood
Dr Richard Horton
Ms Sukhvinder Kaur-Stubbs
Mr Richard Keys
Mrs Caragh Merrick
Dr Norman Price OBE
Mr Ed Smith CBE - Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council
Dr Ranjit Sondhi CBE
Vacancy x2

8 academic and student members

Professor David Eastwood - The Vice-Chancellor and Principal
Professor Adam Tickell - Provost and Vice Principal

4 academic staff elected by and from the academic staff members of the Senate

Professor Kathleen Armour - Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences
Professor Jon Frampton - Stem Cell Biology
Professor Peter Fryer  - Chemical Engineering
Professor Andrew Sanders - Law

The President and one other Sabbatical Officer of the Guild of Students

Ms Poppy Wilkinson – President of the Guild of Students 
Mr Wiseborn Danquah - Postgraduate and Mature Students Officer 


Mr Lee Sanders