Investment Sub-Committee of SPRC

The Investment Sub-Committee determines the investment policy and the criteria upon which the investment performance will be measured.

Membership 2013/14


 End of Term of Office
(to 31 July)

 The Treasurer (Chair) Dr M G Gilbert 2014
 The Vice-Chancellor and Principal
(or his appointed deputy)
Professor D S Eastwood  
 One Academic Member
(appointed by Council)


 3 Lay Members
(appointed by Council)

Dr N Price

Mr M Devenish

Mrs C Merrick




 Co-Opted Members:

  • Mr F Kottman (to 31 July 2014)
  • Dr A Maxwell (to 31 July 2014)

In attendance:

  • The Registrar and Secretary
  • The Director of Estates
  • The Director of Finance
  • The Director of Academic Services

Terms of Reference

i. To determine the investment policy and the criteria upon which the investment performance will be measured.

ii. To determine delegated authorities of staff within the Finance Office, within the investment policy.

iii. To ratify changes to the investment policy made within the delegated powers.

iv. To receive reports from the University's Finance Office on financial performance and compliance.

v. To receive reports from organisations used by the University for investment purposes.

vi. To be mindful of the requirements of the endowments.

vii. To review investment performance against policy and asset management criteria.

viii. To report to Council, through SPRC, on investment policy and performance.

ix. To monitor strategic risks relevant to the work of the Committee as determined by the Strategic Risk Register.

x. To monitor the extent to which value for money is achieved within the areas under the Committee's oversight.

xi. To monitor relevant Key Performance Indicators and to ensure that any concerns with performance against these KPIs are addressed.

Dates of Meetings

The 2013/14 meeting dates are:

Tuesday 10 September 2013 10:00
Tuesday 19 November 2013 10:00
Tuesday 18 February 2014 10:00
Tuesday 20 May 2014 10:00

Contact Details

Mrs G Ball (Director of Finance)
Secretary to the Investment Sub-Committee
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6082

For papers contact:

Mr R Shortland
Assistant Director of Finance
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6109