Media contacts

 Initial approaches from media should be made via Sotaro Kita, Media Officer for the Infant and Child Laboratory (ICL)

He can be contacted on 0121 414 6203 or Email: s.kita@bham.ac.uk

Areas of expertise

Alternatively, you can contact ICL researchers directly. To make this process easier, below are listed the areas of psychology each is willing to talk about.

Ian Apperly

  • Mindreading
  • Self-control

Email: i.a.apperly@bham.ac.uk


Sarah Beck

  • Imagination, children's reasoning
  • Tool use, logic

Email: s.r.beck@bham.ac.uk


Jackie Blissett

  • Infant and child feeding and eating
  • Childhood obesity, maternal mental health

Email: j.blissett@bham.ac.uk


Gill Harris

  • Fussy eaters, food refusal, weaning
  • Taste and texture exposure in infancy

Email: g.harris@bham.ac.uk


Sotaro Kita

  • Gesture development, language development
  • Communication

Email: s.kita@bham.ac.uk


Andrea Krott

  • Early language development

Email: a.krott@bham.ac.uk


Joe McCleery

  • Autism, infants at risk for autism
  • Infant and child brain functioning and development

Email: joe.mccleery@gmail.com