People

People associated with the CRNI

Staff listing for CRNI
Name Department Telephone             Email
Dr Susan Armstrong Biosciences 46485 s.j.armstrong@bham.ac.uk
Dr Paul Badenhorst
Key words:  Epigenetics, transcription, chromatin remodeling, chromatin dynamics, histone modifications, protein-dna interaction.
Anatomy 46810 p.w.badenhorst@bham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Bagshaw Psychology 43683 a.p.bagshaw@bham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Baker
Key words:  Fluorescence imaging, fluorescence spectrophotometry, water quality, organic matter characterisation, water engineering.
Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences 58133 a.baker.2@bham.ac.uk
Dr Mostafa Barigou Chemical Engineering 45277 M.Barigou@bham.ac.uk
Mr Gino Bellavia VIN Technology Services 43897 G.Bellavia@bham.ac.uk
Dr John Bridgeman Civil Engineering 45145 J.Bridgeman@bham.ac.uk
Dr Melanie Britton Chemistry 44391 M.M.Britton@bham.ac.uk
Dr Josephine Bunch  
Key words:  Mass spectrometry imaging, MALDI-MS, LA-ICP-MS, Drug distribution studies
Chemistry 47813  j.bunch@bham.ac.uk
Dr Lee Chapman Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences 45682 I.Chapman@bham.ac.uk
Dr Yu Chen Physics & Astronomy 43505 Y.Chen20@bham.ac.uk
Prof. Kevin Chipman   Biosciences 45422 J.K.Chipman@bham.ac.uk
Prof Ela Claridge
Key words:  Medical image analysis, physics of image formation, multispectral imaging, mathematical modelling, fluorescence imaging, skin cancer, colon cancer.
Computer Science 44778 E.Claridge@cs.bham.ac.uk
Dr Phil Cox Chemical Engineering 45310 P.W.Cox@bham.ac.uk
Dr Alison Davenport Metallurgy & Materials 45191 A.Davenport@bham.ac.uk
Prof Shoumitro Deb Psychiatry 9-678-2353 S.Deb@bham.ac.uk
Dr Hamid Dehghani
Key words:  Physiological Measurements, Optical Imaging, Image Reconstruction, Molecular Imaging, Cancer 
Computer Science 48728 H.Dehghani@cs.bham.ac.uk
Dr Francesco Falciani Biosciences 43037 F.Falciani@bham.ac.uk
Dr Manuel Forero-Vargas Biosciences 45406 M.G.ForeroVargas@bham.ac.uk
Professor P Fryer Chemical Engineering 45451 P.J.Fryer@bham.ac.uk
Prof Vince Gaffney Institute of Archaeology & Antiquity 47632 V.L.Gaffney@bham.ac.uk
Dr Liam Grover Chemical Engineering 43887 L.M.Grover@bham.ac.uk
Prof Michael Hannon Chemistry 42527 m.j.hannon@bham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Hansen Psychology 43678 p.c.hansen@bham.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Harrad Environmental Health 47298 S.J.Harrad@bham.ac.uk
Dr Alicia Hidalgo
Key words:  In vivo, nervous system, drosophila, synapses, apoptosis, mitosis, brain registration, brain structure, signalling, automation, cell counting.
Biosciences 45416 A.Hidalgo@bham.ac.uk
Prof Glyn Humphreys
Key words:  MRI, Lesion-based segmentation, DTI
Psychology 47735 G.W.Humphreys@bham.ac.uk
Prof John Jefferys
Key words:  Brain, neuronal networks, synaptic function, live cell imaging, fluorescence microscopy, MRI 
Neurophysiology 47525 J.G.R.Jefferys@bham.ac.uk
Prof Roy Johnston
Key words: Computational nanoscience, nanoparticle image simulation, plasmon calculations, energy landscapes, structure otpimization.
Chemistry 47477 r.l.johnston@bham.ac.uk
Prof Ian Jones
Key words:  Electron microscopy, nanoparticles, tomography, chemical nanaoanalysis
Metallurgy & Materials 45184 i.p.jones@bham.ac.uk
Dr Ata Kaban Computer Science 42792 A.Kaban@cs.bham.ac.uk
Prof Mike Kearsey Biosciences 45886 M.J.Kearsey@bham.ac.uk
Dr Chris Kidd Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences 48146 C.Kidd@bham.ac.uk
Dr Jackson Kirkman Brown Centre for Human Reproductive Science  831-2739 J.Kirkmanbrown@bham.ac.uk
Prof Zoe Kourtzi Psychology 48509 Z.Kourtzi@bham.ac.uk
Dr Jan-Ulrich Kreft Biosciences 48851  j.kreft@bham.ac.uk
Dr Gabriel Landini School of Dentistry 832-2885 G.Landini@bham.ac.uk
Dr Gary Leeke Chemical Engineering 45351 G.A.Leeke@bham.ac.uk
Prof Richard Lilford Public Health 46772 R.J.Lilford@bham.ac.uk
Prof Lynne Macaskie
Key words:  Biofilms and biofilm imaging, metallic nanoparticles, biominerals and bimetallics, nuclide migration in matrices, bioreactor imaging, electron microscopy, atomic force microscopy, magnetic resonance imaging, superSTEM, STXM (awaiting beam line at DIAMOND being built.
Biosciences 45889 L.E.Macaskie@bham.ac.uk
Dr Rosalind Meldrum Biosciences 45419 r.meldrum@bham.ac.uk
Dr Paula Mendes
Key words:  Nanobiotechnolgy, nanoparticles, surface chemistry, bio-patterning, biomimetic materials, switchable surfaces.
Chemical Engineering 45343 p.m.mendes@bham.ac.uk
Dr Ferenc Mueller Reproductive & Child Health 42895 f.mueller@bham.ac.uk
Prof Gerard Nash
Key words: Blood rheology, cell adhesion, cell migration, cardiovascular physiology, inflammation
Physiology 43670 G.Nash@bham.ac.uk
Prof Ian Norton Chemical Engineering 45296 I.T.Norton@bham.ac.uk
Dr Will Palin School of Dentistry 832-2914 w.m.palin@bham.ac.uk
Prof Richard Palmer Physics & Astronomy 44653 R.E.Palmer@bham.ac.uk
Prof David Parker Physics & Astronomy 44708 d.j.parker@bham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Peet
Key words: Childhood brain tumours, non-invasive diagnosis and prognosis, magnetic resonance spectroscopy metabolomics, pattern recognition.
Paeds & Child Health 9-333-8711 Acpeet@doctors.org.uk
Dr Zoe Pikramenou
Key words: Luminescent probes, lanthanide labels for imaging, luminescent and magnetic nanoparticles, DNA recognition, protein labels, sensors.
Chemistry 42290 Z.Pikramenou@bham.ac.uk
Dr Dale Powner Cancer Studies 43292 D.J.Powner.20@bham.ac.uk
Prof Jon Preece Chemistry 43528 J.A.Preece@bham.ac.uk
Dr Steve Publicover Biosciences 45455 S.J.Publicover@bham.ac.uk
Prof Trevor Rayment Chemistry 47222 T.Rayment@bham.ac.uk
Dr Joshua Rappoport
Key words: Cell biology, biophysics, fluorescent microscopy, vesicle trafficking, cell motility, live cell imaging.
Biosciences 49019 j.rappoport@bham.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Renshaw Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences 46172 J.C.Renshaw@bham.ac.uk
Dr Jon Rowe Computer Science 42985 J.E.Rowe@cs.bham.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Sammons School of Dentistry  832-2910 R.L.Sammons@bham.ac.uk
Dr David Smith School of Mathematics 42914 smithdfor.mat@bham.ac.uk
Dr Janet Smith Biosciences 45408  J.Smith.20@bham.ac.uk
Dr John Snaith Chemistry 44363  j.s.snaith@bham.ac.uk
Dr Dov Stekel Biosciences 44209  D.J.Stekel@bham.ac.uk
Prof Bob Stone Engineering 47395 R.J.Stone@bham.ac.uk
Dr Iain Styles Computer Science 48559 I.B.Styles@cs.bham.ac.uk
Mrs Sudha Sundar
Key words: Small animal, xenograft, malignancy, angiogenesis, molecular therapy.
Cancer Studies 0121 507 5337 s.s.sundar@bham.ac.uk
Dr Juergen Thomas Physics & Astronomy 58316 JPT@hep.ph.bham.ac.uk
Dr Steve Thomas
Key words: Platelets and megakaryocyes, actin dynamics, live cell imaging.
Institute of Biomedical Research 58678 s.thomas@bham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Thomason Biosciences 44209 P.Thomason@bham.ac.uk
Dr John Thornes Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences 45556 J.E.Thornes@bham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Tino Computer Science 46558 P.Tino@cs.bham.ac.uk
Dr James Tucker Chemistry 44422  j.tucker@bham.ac.uk
Dr Mark Viant Biosciences 42219 M.Viant@bham.ac.uk
Prof Damien Walmsley School of Dentistry 832-2825 A.D.Walmsley@bham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Watkins Physics & Astronomy 44625 P.M.Watkins@bham.ac.uk
Prof Steve Watson Institute for Biomedical Research 46514 S.P.Watson@bham.ac.uk
Prof Xin Yao Computer Science 43747 X.Yao@cs.bham.ac.uk