Members of the project team

Project Director

Deidre MartinDr Deirdre Martin


Professor Adrian Blackledge Professor Angela Creese martin-jones-marilyn

Sheena Gardner

Professor Adrian Blackledge Professor Angela Creese Professor Marilyn Martin-Jones Sheena Gardner

Members of the Advisory group

Professor Mike Baynham, (Centre for Language Education Research, University of Leeds)

Mr Arvind Bhatt (Bilingual researcher [Gujarati/English], with experience on 4 ESRC-funded research projects)

Dr Kathryn Jones (Iaith/Welsh Centre for Language Planning)

Dr Charmian Kenner (Goldsmiths College, University of London)

Dr Joanna McPake (Director, Scottish Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research and Vice-Dean for Knowledge Exchange, University of Strathclyde)

Professor Ben Rampton (Centre for Language, Discourse and Communication, King’s College, University of London and Principal Investigator on the ESRC-funded Researcher Development Initiative project on Ethnography, Language and Communication 2007-2009)

Dr Catrin Rednap (Former Director of the Education Unit, Welsh Language Board and now freelance consultant on language education policy in Wales, with a consultancy called Tafodiaith)

Ms Gopinder Kaur Sagoo, ESRC-funded doctoral researcher (student representative)

Professor Li Wei (Birkbeck College, University of London)

Visiting doctoral researchers

Olga Solovova (2009-2010) Visiting from the Centre for Social Studies, University of Coimbra, Portugal 

Norma Vanegas Torres (May – August 2010) Visiting from Universidad de los Andes, Bogota, Colombia 

Samia Naz (2011-2012) Visiting from the Department of English, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan, Lahore, Pakistan 

Alan Silvio Ribeiro Carneiro (2012-2013) Visiting from Department of Applied Linguistics, University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil 

Lídia Gallego-Balsá (2012–2013) Visiting from the University of Lleida, Catalonia, Spain 

Sabina Vakser (2012-2013) Visiting from the School of Education, University of Melbourne, Australia 

Samira Jalil (2012-2013) Visiting from UNILA (Federal University for Latin American Integration), Brazil

Susanne Becker (April – July, 2013) Visiting from the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University, Frankfurt/Main, Germany.