Partner Universities

University of Birmingham


The University of Birmingham is a British Redbrick university located in the city of Birmingham, England. Founded in Edgbaston in 1900 as a successor to Mason Science College, and with origins dating back to the 1825 Birmingham Medical School, it was the first Redbrick university to gain an official royal charter.

It is a member of the Russell Group of research universities and a founding member of Universitas 21. The student population includes around 16,500 undergraduate and 8,000 postgraduate students, making it the largest university in the West Midlands region, and the 11th largest in the UK. As of 2006-07 it is the fourth most popular English university by number of applications.

The Centre for Russian and East European Studies is one of the world’s leading research institutes in its field. CREES is a multi-disciplinary centre with a strong orientation towards the social sciences and history.

While our expertise is firmly grounded in the former states of the USSR and Eastern Europe, we recognise the global importance of this region. This is reflected in CREES' research and teaching interests that cut across Eastern and Western Europe.

Kazakh-British Technical University


Kazakh-British Technical University (KBTU), which was founded in 2001, envisages this project as an opportunity to further adjust its scientific and academic activities to the current trends in the Western and specifically British institutions of higher education.

At present the KBTU offers a BSc programme in Economics at the International School of Economics, jointly organised with the London School of Economics (LSE), UK. 10 post graduate students of the KBTU study on the MA and PhD programmes at the Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen, UK. The proposed project aims at developing a new MSc programme in Economics at the KBTU