The EAHMH 2015 Book Prize

For information about the 2015 Book Prize, to be awarded at the next biennial conference, please contact Professor Iris Borowy at :

Previous Prizes

The EAHMH 2013 Book Prize

2013's prize was awarded to Alun Withey for his book, Physick in the Family: Health, Medicine and Care in Wales, c.1600-1750 (Manchester University Press 2011) The prize (generously funded by the Dutch Stichting Historia Medicinae and the German Robert Bosch Stiftung) was presented to Alun by out-going EAHMH president Laurinda Abreu (on behalf of the three-member jury) at the official conference dinner in Lisbon, Portugal. Alun was present to accept the award and was warmly congratulated by the many guests present. The jury's full report is available here

The EAHMH 2011 Book Award

The EAHMH are delighted to announce the first winner of the EAHMH Book Award. The prize of €3000 (granted through the generous support of the Dutch Stichting Historia Medicinae and the German Robert Bosch Stiftung) was awarded to Ilana Löwy for her book Preventive Strikes: Women, Precancer and Prophylactic Surgery, published by Johns Hopkins University Press. You can read the jury's laudation here  

Ilana Löwy receiving her prize from EAHMH President, Frank Huisman
Picture by Wieke Eefting

The Pieter van Foreest Student Prize

The Utrecht conference also marked the introduction of the Pieter van Foreest Student Prize. A prize of 500 EUR (generously supported by the Dutch foundation Stichting Historia Medicinae) was awarded to the best paper presented by a PhD student at the conference. The winner of the 2011 Pieter van Foreest Student Prize was Magnus Vollset of the University of Bergen for his presentation 'Medical models of leprosy polices and the "leper mind"'. 












Magnus Vollset receiving his prize from Frank Huisman
Picture by Wieke Eefting

The EAHMH Book Award

eahmh LogoThe EAHMH book award is granted to the best medical history monograph published in the two years preceding the EAHMH biennial conference. For the 2015 award, books published during 2013-14 inclusive will be eligible. Nominated books can be on any medical history topic concerning Europe or Europe's relationship with the wider world. The award reflects the strong commitment of the EAHMH to new approaches to medical historiography. Books may be nominated by anyone, including publishers, EAHMH members and authors themselves. Books considered for one prize will not automatically be considered for the next and need to be re-nominated each time within the period of eligibility. Edited volumes, as well as works with three or more authors, are not eligible. In case the award-winning book is written in a language other than English, the Scientific Board of the EAHMH will provide advice for promoting it in English.

Publishers should send three copies of books to be considered for the prize to the Chair of the Jury.

Address for books to be sent: tbc

The Pieter van Foreest Student Prize

Van ForeestThe Pieter van Foreest prize is awarded to the (PhD) student with the best paper on any medical history topic presented at the biennial EAHMH conference. The prize commemorates Pieter van Foreest, the 'Dutch Hippocrates', remembered as a keen medical observer. The prize (EUR 500) will be awarded during the General Assembly on the final day of the conference and is generously supported by the Dutch foundation, Stichting Historia Medicinae.

To be eligible, students have to be members of the EAHMH. Those wishing to be considered for the prize should include an informal application when submitting their abstracts. Student prize competition entrants will be grouped together in special sessions at the conference. The Scientific Board of the EAHMH will act as jury.