Our staff

Principal investigators involved in liver research 

Professor Jane McKeating

Professor Jane McKeating

Professor of Molecular Virology

Institute of Immunology and Immunotherapy

Jane McKeating is the Professor of Molecular Virology. 

She set up the HCV group at the Medical School in January 2005. The group occupies 3 adjoining labs on the 5th floor of the IBR, 2 cat 3 labs and have shared access to all of the facilities in the MRC Centre for Immune Regulation. The group is involved in a wide range of local and international collaborative studies.

+44 (0)121 414 8173

Professor Philip Newsome

Professor Philip Newsome

Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Hon Consultant Hepatologist
Head of Cell Therapy
Director of the Centre for Liver Research

School of Immunity and Infection

Philip Newsome is Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Clinical Director of the Birmingham University Stem Cell Centre

Philip has published over major research papers in scientific journals as well as reviews and book chapters in the fields of stem cell biology and liver disease. He has received major grants from NIHR, European Union, Wellcome Trust, UKSCF, BBSRC and the Medical ...

+44 (0)121 415 8700/+44 (0)121 414 5614

Simon Afford s.c.afford@bham.ac.uk Reader

Stuart Curbishley s.m.curbishley@bham.ac.uk NHIR senior scientist

Bridget Gunson b.k.gunson@bham.ac.uk BRU manager

Gideon Hirschfield g.hirschfield@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Patricia Lalor p.f.lalor@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Ye Htun Oo y.h.oo@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Gary Reynolds g.m.reynolds@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Shishir Shetty s.shetty@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Zania Stamataki z.stamataki@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Christopher Weston c.j.weston@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Dalan Bailey d.bailey@bham.ac.uk ACF