Our staff

Principal investigators involved in liver research 

Professor Jane McKeating

Professor Jane McKeating

Professor of Molecular Virology

Institute of Immunology and Immunotherapy

McKeating is Professor of Molecular Virology at the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom and is Director of the Centre for Human Virology

She also holds the Hans Fischer Fellowship and visiting Professorship at Technical University of Munich. She runs a translational research programme that investigates hepatitis B and C viral pathogenesis with the aim of developing new therapies and ...

Telephone
+44 (0)121 414 8173
Email
j.a.mckeating@bham.ac.uk

Professor Philip Newsome

Professor Philip Newsome

Director of the Centre for Liver Research
Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Hon Consultant Hepatologist
Head of Cell Therapy

Institute of Immunology and Immunotherapy

Philip Newsome is Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Clinical Director of the Birmingham University Stem Cell Centre. He is an Area Lead (Liver Regeneration) in the NIHR Birmingham Liver Biomedical Research Unit.

Philip has published over major research papers in scientific journals as well as reviews and book chapters in the fields of stem cell biology and liver disease. He has received ...

Telephone
+44 (0)121 415 8700/+44 (0)121 414 5614
Email
p.n.newsome@bham.ac.uk

Simon Afford s.c.afford@bham.ac.uk Reader

Stuart Curbishley s.m.curbishley@bham.ac.uk NHIR senior scientist

Bridget Gunson b.k.gunson@bham.ac.uk BRU manager

Gideon Hirschfield g.hirschfield@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Patricia Lalor p.f.lalor@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Ye Htun Oo y.h.oo@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Gary Reynolds g.m.reynolds@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Shishir Shetty s.shetty@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Zania Stamataki z.stamataki@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Christopher Weston c.j.weston@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Dalan Bailey d.bailey@bham.ac.uk ACF