People

Academic staff

Professor Duncan ET Shepherd
Professor of Bio-medical Engineering
Head of group 
d.e.shepherd@bham.ac.uk

Dr Daniel M Espino 
BSc (Aberdeen), PhD (Aberdeen), CBiol, MSB 
Lecturer in Bio-medical Engineering
d.m.espino@bham.ac.uk

Honorary staff

Professor David WL Hukins
Emeritus Professor of Bio-medical Engineering
d.w.hukins@bham.ac.uk

Project manager

Mrs Kally Bhartti
BA (Sheffield Hallam)
k.bhartti@bham.ac.uk

Research staff

Dr Aziza Mahomed
MEng (Durham), PhD (Birmingham), CEng, MIMechE
a.mahomed@bham.ac.uk

Marie Curie Researchers

Miss Alba Gonzalez
BEng (Jaume I, Castellón, Spain), MEng (Zaragoza, Spain)
a.gonzalez@bham.ac.uk

Miss Alicja Kubiak
BEng, MEng (Wroclaw, Poland)
a.j.kubiak@bham.ac.uk

Miss Carolina Lavecchia
BEng, MEng (Pisa, Italy)
c.lavecchia@bham.ac.uk

Mr Bernard Lawless
BEng, MEng (ITT Dublin, Ireland), Cert. Med. Sci. (RCSI, Ireland)
b.m.lawless@bham.ac.uk

Research students

Mr Feras Alnaimat
BEng (Egypt), MSc (Brunel)
PhD project: Design and testing of spinal implants.
FXA331@bham.ac.uk

Mr Darshan Angadi
MBBS (India), MRCS (Edinburgh)
MD Project: Biomechanics adolescent femoral nails

Mr Spencer Barnes
MEng (Birmingham)
PhD Project: Development of Surgical Instruments for the Removal of Bladder Tumours
SCB893@bham.ac.uk

Mr David Eckold
BEng (Birmingham)
PhD Project: Analysis of wear debris from total disc arthroplasty
DXE784@bham.ac.uk

Miss Naomi Green
MEng (Birmingham), CEng, MIMechE
PhD project: Wear testing and computational modelling of ceramic disc replacement implants
NCG937@bham.ac.uk

Ms Hanna Moore
BEng (Aston)
PhD project: Implementing nanotechnology to biomedical applications.
HEM344@bham.ac.uk

Mr Hamid Sadeghi
MEng (Birmingham)
PhD project: Mechanical behaviour of articular cartilage.
HXS043@bham.ac.uk

Miss May Youssef
MSc (Egypt)
PhD Project: Development of a medical device for treatment of Dupuytren's disease
MMY179@bham.ac.uk