Social cognition and neuroscience 

Academic staff

Name

Email

Research interests

Ian Apperly

I.A.Apperly@bham.ac.uk

Theory of mind in neurologically intact adults, adults with brain injury, and typically and atypically developing children

Sarah Beck

S.R.Beck@bham.ac.uk

Children’s and adults’ thinking about time, knowledge, and uncertainty

David Booth

D.A.Booth@bham.ac.uk

Interpersonal and cultural aspects of health

Julie Christian

J.N.Christian@bham.ac.uk

The application of attitude and intergroup process models to social service provision and use

Stuart Derbyshire 

S.W.Derbyshire@bham.ac.uk

The sick role, malingering, and pain that occurs in the absence of identifiable physical pathology

Dietmar Heinke

D.G.Heinke@bham.ac.uk

Computational modelling of cognitive neuroscience and neuropsychology, visual attention and object recognition, and social exclusion and stigma

Sotaro Kita

S.Kita@bham.ac.uk

The psycholinguistics and psychology of communication, particularly the influence of gesture on language production and language comprehension

Chris Miall

R.C.Miall@bham.ac.uk

Visually guided action; motor learning and motor coordination; joint action

Joe McCleery

J.P.McCleery@bham.ac.uk

The neural basis of typical and atypical social-emotional, social-communicative, and language development

Ian Mitchell

I.J.Mitchell@bham.ac.uk

Social reasoning deficits in Parkinson’s disease, Tourette syndrome, and offending behaviour

Chris Oliver

C.Oliver@bham.ac.uk

Neurodevelopmental disabilities in genetic disorders (e.g, autism, Down’s syndrome)

Pia Rotshtein

P.Rotshtein@bham.ac.uk

Neural mechanisms of identity recognition and facial expression encoding; the amydala and processing of threat-related stimuli

Brandon Stewart                 

B.Stewart@bham.ac.uk

Automatic and controlled components of stereotyping and prejudice; social judgement and decision making

Research staff

Name

Email

Research interests

Mark Elliott

M.T.Elliott@bham.ac.uk

Human movement timing and synchronisation; sensory processing of temporal events.

Satoshi Endo

S.Endo@bham.ac.uk

Motor control; object manipulation; joint action; human–robot interaction

Juliane Honisch

J.J.Honisch@bham.ac.uk

Dance perception, memory and performance; movement agency and creativity; behavioural synchrony and self–other representation; movement synchrony in expert sports

Nina Powell

NLP765@bham.ac.uk

Moral outrage and moral reasoning

Kimberly Quinn

K.Quinn@bham.ac.uk

Face processing, social categorisation, and identity recognition; behavioural synchrony and self–other representation

Postgraduate research students

Name

Email

Advisor(s)

PhD Topic

Victoria Baldwin

VNB873@bham.ac.uk

T. Powell

Memory strategies in people with acquired brain injury

Gregory Carslaw

GXC243@bham.ac.uk

Christian, Heinke

Agent-based modelling of social behaviour

Kate Graham

KAG796@bham.ac.uk

McCleery

Neural functioning in infants who are at increased risk for developing social-emotional disorders

Charlotte (Easter) Hartwright

CEE849@bham.ac.uk

Apperly, Hansen

Cognitive neuroscience of mental-state reasoning

Victoria Johnson

VXJ757@bham.ac.uk

Oliver, Beck

Decision making in neurodevelopmental disorders

Laura Kimberley

LFK602@bham.ac.uk

Stewart, Quinn

Goal source and goal framing effects in social categorisation and stereotype activation

Brad Mattan

 

Rotshtein, Quinn

 

Laura Nice

LXN964@bham.ac.uk

T. Powell

Route learning in people with acquired brain injury

Sissy Stefanidou

CXS811@bham.ac.uk

McCleery

The neural basis of social-emotional and language functioning in children with autism spectrum disorders

Alena Streltsova

AXS097@bham.ac.uk

McCleery

The development of social-emotional and cognitive brain functions in young infants and children

Alla Yankovskaya

AXY944@bham.ac.uk

Humphreys, Booth

Mechanisms supporting the integration of configural and emotional information in faces