Senior Management Team (SMT) at Birmingham Business School

The SMT is responsible for the oversight of the School’s strategy and implementation across Research, Education, Resources, Faculty and Professional Services and feeds directly into the College of Social Science’s College Board. Meeting bi-monthly the SMT is also a forum for disseminating information and key updates from the College and the wider University community.

SMT membership

  • Catherine Cassell, Chair and Dean of Birmingham Business School
  • Fiona Carmichael, Head of Department of Business and Labour Economics
  • Matthew Cole, Head of Department of Economics
  • Derek Condon, Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes and Internationalisation
  • Michel Goyer, Interim Head of Department of Organisation, Work and Employment
  • Lloyd C Harris, Head of Department of Marketing
  • Dan Herbert, Director of Education
  • Simon Jones, Interim Operations Manager
  • Andrew Mullineux, Head of Department of Finance
  • Joseph Sanderson, Head of Department of Procurement and Operations Management
  • Isabelle Szmigin, Deputy Dean of Birmingham Business School
  • Shlomo Tarba, Head of Department of Strategy and International Business
  • Kiran TrehanInterim Head of Department of Entrepreneurship and Local Economy and Director of External Engagement
  • Penelope Tuck, Head of Department of Accounting