Staff in the School of Cancer Sciences

Head of School

Professor Paul Moss

Professor of Haematology

PaulMossProfileshotProfessor Moss is Head of the School of Cancer Sciences at the University of Birmingham and Deputy Chairman of the Medical Research Council Infection and Immunity Board.

Telephone: 0121 414 2824

Email: p.moss@bham.ac.uk


Deputy Head of School

Professor Malcolm Taylor

Professor of Cancer Genetics

Taylor,Malcolm

Malcolm Taylor is Professor of Cancer Genetics and Deputy Head of The School of Cancer Sciences. Malcolm has published over 120 Research papers and received consistent major support from Cancer Research UK as well as the Leukaemia Research Fund

Telephone:  +44 (0)121 414 4488

Email:  a.m.r.taylor@bham.ac.uk

 

Deputy Head of School (Clinical)

Professor Dion Morton

Professor of Surgery

morton-profDion is an Honorary Consultant at  University Hospital Birmingham and Professor of Surgery in the School of Cancer Sciences. He is Director of the Birmingham Experimental Cancer Medicine Centre and Director of Clinical Research at the Royal College of Surgeons of England since October 2011.  He is also Research Committee Chair at the European Society of Coloproctology.

 Telephone: +44 (0)121 627 2276

 Email: dion.morton@uhb.nhs.uk

Director of the Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit

Dr Pamela Kearns

Professor in Clinical Paediatric Oncology

kearns-pamelaPamela Kearns is Professor of Clinical Paediatric Oncology in the School of Cancer Sciences, University of Birmingham and an Honorary Consultant at the Birmingham Children’s Hospital. She is Director of the Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit in the School of Cancer Sciences and is on the Executive Board of the European Society of Paediatric Oncology (SIOP-E) and the Executive Board of the academic consortium 'Innovative Therapies for Children with Cancer' (ITCC) and Vice-Chair of SIOP-E’s European Clinical Research Council for paediatric and adolescent oncology.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7854

Email: p.r.kearns@bham.ac.uk 


Director of the Henry Wellcome NMR Facility

Prof Michael Overduin 

Executive Director, Professor Of Structural Biology

Michael Overduin is the Professor of Structural Biology within the School of Cancer Sciences of the University of Birmingham, and Executive Director of The Henry Wellcome Building for Biomolecular NMR Spectroscopy.

Telephone 0121 414 3802

Email m.overduin@bham.ac.uk

 

Professor Ulrich Gunther

Scientific Director, Professor Of Biophysical Chemistry 

Ulrich Gunther is the Professor of Biophysical Chemistry within the School of Cancer Sciences of the University of Birmingham, and Scientific Director of The Henry Wellcome Building for Biomolecular NMR Spectroscopy.

Telephone 0121 414 8361

Email u.l.gunther@bham.ac.uk  

 

Administration

School Administration Manager

Ms Susan Rookes

Telephone 0121 414 7966

Email s.m.rookes@bham.ac.uk  

Research Administration

Dr Rachel Bruton

Senior Research Facilitator

Telephone 0121 414 8261

Email r.k.bruton@bham.ac.uk

Rachel provides Senior Research Facilitator support to the school of Cancer Sciences in areas such as identification of funding opportunities, proposal development, project management and providing expert advice in the area of Research Governance.

Technical Manager

David Lloyd

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4000

Email d.r.lloyd@bham.ac.uk
 

Teaching

Dr Jean Assender

MSc Clinical Oncology Programme Leader

As Programme Lead for the MSc in Clinical Oncology she has increased the scope of the programme introducing new modules, an FRCR route and now a full time programme with clinical observership. The programme offers students from a variety of oncology related disciplines a high quality learning experience, taught by experts in the field.

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8808

Email j.w.assender@bham.ac.uk