Our staff

Staff talking

Dr Wendy Leadbeater

Dr Wendy Leadbeater

Senior Lecturer in Medical Sciences

Neurobiology

Wendy Leadbeater is a senior lecturer in Medical Sciences, based in the School of Clinical and Experimental Medicine. She has a predominant teaching role and due to her interest in education is involved in pedagogical educational research with other members of the college.  She has also published research papers in the field of neuroscience.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 4505

Email w.leadbeater@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marie Lebbe

Dr Marie Lebbe

Clinical Research Fellow

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Dr Marie Lebbe is a Medical Research Council-funded clinical research fellow at CEDAM in the Institute of Biomedical Research. Marie is currently undertaking a PhD, looking into the effects of androgens on early follicular development.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3826

Email m.lebbe@bham.ac.uk

Professor Gregory YH Lip

Professor Gregory YH Lip

Consultant Cardiologist & Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Director - Haemostasis Thrombosis & Vascular Biology Unit

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences

Professor Lip, MD, is an academic clinical cardiologist based in a busy city centre teaching hospital and leads a large, multidisciplinary research group (including clinical and laboratory-based components). 

He is also Visiting Professor of Haemostasis Thrombosis and Vascular Sciences in the School of Life & Health Sciences at the University of Aston in ...

Telephone +44 (0) 121 5075080

Email g.y.h.lip@bham.ac.uk

Dr David Lissauer

Dr David Lissauer

Lecturer

Reproduction, Genes and Development

David is a clinical lecturer in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. He combining his academic work with clinical duties as an Obstetrics and Gynaecology registrar at Birmingham Women’s Hospital NHS Trust.

David’s research interests are maternal immunology and maternal global health.

 

Email d.m.lissauer@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ann Logan

Professor Ann Logan

Professor of Molecular Neuroscience

Neurobiology

Telephone +44(0)121 414 8854

Email a.logan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marie Lordkipanidze

Dr Marie Lordkipanidze

Research Fellow

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences

Dr Lordkipanidzé’s major research interest is to bring platelet function testing and molecular biology to clinical settings with the aim of individualizing antiplatelet treatment to specific patient needs.

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8680

Email m.lordkipanidze@bham.ac.uk

Professor Christopher Lote

Professor of Experimental Nephrology and College Admissions Lead

Medical Science and Education

Chris Lote is Professor of Experimental Nephrology, College admissions lead and one of the (2) Medicine Admissions tutors.

Chris has published over 200  papers, review articles and book chapters.

He is currently preparing the 5thedition of his best-selling renal physiology textbook, ‘Principles of Renal Physiology’, which has been ...

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6921

Email c.j.lote@bham.ac.uk

Dr Gillian Lowe

Dr Gillian Lowe

Honorary Clinical Research Fellow

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences

Dr Lowe is a hospital doctor who specialises in haematology (blood disorders) and is interested in problems with bleeding and thrombosis.

Email g.c.lowe@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nguyet-Thin Luu

Dr Nguyet-Thin Luu

Research Fellow

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences

Thin Luu originally trained as a Pharmacologist and is interested in inflammation and atherosclerosis. She is an expert in setting up complex mono- and multi-cellular models of cell culture in understanding the processes of cell adhesion and migration, and the effects of blood flow on these processes, by application of well-defined, quantitative, in vitro models.

Thin ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4131

Email n.luu@bham.ac.uk

Dr Melanie Madhani

Dr Melanie Madhani

Lecturer in Cardiovascular Medicine

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences

Email m.madhani@bham.ac.uk