People - Civil Engineering

Head of School

Professor Mark Sterling

Professor Mark Sterling

Head of School - Beale Professor of Civil Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5065

Email m.sterling@bham.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

Dr Min An

Dr Min An

Reader in Project and Transport Risk Management
Convenor of MSc in Civil Engineering
Convenor of MSc in Civil Engineering and Management

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5146

Email m.an@bham.ac.uk

Professor Chris Baker

Professor Chris Baker

Professor of Environmental Fluid Mechanics
Convenor of MRes Programme in Railway Systems Engineering and Integration

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5067

Email c.j.baker@bham.ac.uk

Professor Charalampos Baniotopoulos

Professor Charalampos Baniotopoulos

Chair of Sustainable Energy Systems
Director of Resilience Centre

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5085

Email c.baniotopoulos@bham.ac.uk

Peter Braithwaite

Peter Braithwaite

Director of Engineering Sustainability, Birmingham Centre for Resilience Research and Education

Email p.braithwaite@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Bridgeman

Professor John Bridgeman

Professor of Environmental Engineering
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5145

Email j.bridgeman@bham.ac.uk

Dr Michael Burrow

Dr Michael Burrow

Senior Lecturer
Undergraduate Admission Tutor
Convenor of MSc Road Management and Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5079

Email m.p.n.burrow@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cynthia Carliell-Marquet

Dr Cynthia Carliell-Marquet

Senior Lecturer in Water and Environmental Engineering
Deputy Undergraduate Admission Tutor

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5140

Email c.m.carliell@bham.ac.uk

Dr Elfrida Carstea

Dr Elfrida Carstea

Marie Curie Research Fellow

Email e.m.carstea@bham.ac.uk

Dr David Chapman

Dr David Chapman

Reader in Geotechnical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5150

Email d.n.chapman@bham.ac.uk

Dr Samir Dirar

Dr Samir Dirar

Lecturer in Structural Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4385

Email s.m.o.h.dirar@bham.ac.uk

Dr Harry Evdorides

Lecturer
Welfare Tutor
Senior Road Executives Programme Leader

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3071

Email h.evdorides@bham.ac.uk

Dr Gurmel Ghataora

Dr Gurmel Ghataora

Senior Lecturer
Admissions tutor for Postgraduate taught programmes

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5047

Email g.s.ghataora@bham.ac.uk

Professor Kamel Hawwash

Professor Kamel Hawwash

Professor in the School of Civil Engineering
Senior Tutor
Convenor of MSc Programme in Construction Management

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5068

Email k.i.m.hawwash@bham.ac.uk

Dr Hassan Hemida

Dr Hassan Hemida

Birmingham Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4215

Email h.hemida@bham.ac.uk

Dr Andreas Hoffrichter

Dr Andreas Hoffrichter

Teaching and Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4342

Email a.hoffrichter@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ian Jefferson

Professor Ian Jefferson

Reader in Geotechnical Engineering
Deputy Head of School (Teaching) and Head of Education
Convenor of MSc Programmes in Geotechnical Engineering & Geotechnical Engineering and Management

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7972

Email i.jefferson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sakdirat Kaewunruen

Dr Sakdirat Kaewunruen

Senior Lecturer in Railway and Civil Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 2670

Email s.kaewunruen@bham.ac.uk

Dr Pedro Martinez-Vazquez

Dr Pedro Martinez-Vazquez

Design Tutor
Convenor of MSc Programme in Civil Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5059

Email p.vazquez@bham.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Quinn

Dr Andrew Quinn

Senior Lecturer in Atmospheric Science and Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5055

Email a.d.quinn@bham.ac.uk

Professor Christopher Rogers

Professor Christopher Rogers

Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
Director of the Birmingham Centre for Resilience Research and Education

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5066

Email c.d.f.rogers@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Royal

Birmingham Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5141

Email a.c.royal@bham.ac.uk

Professor Felix Schmid

Professor Felix Schmid

Professor in the School of Civil Engineering
Programme Director MSc in Railway Systems Engineering and Integration

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5138

Email f.schmid@bham.ac.uk

Dr Soroosh Sharifi

Dr Soroosh Sharifi

Lecturer in Water Engineering

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5100

Email s.sharifi@bham.ac.uk

Dr Xiaonan Tang

Dr Xiaonan Tang

Lecturer in Water Engineering
Programme Director MSc Programme in Water Resources Technology and Management
Library Representative for Civil Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8664

Email x.tang@bham.ac.uk

Professor Miles Tight

Professor Miles Tight

Professor of Transport, Energy and Environment
Tutor for Postgraduate research programme

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5071

Email m.r.tight@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jian Yang

Dr Jian Yang

Lecturer in Structural Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5149

Email j.yang.3@bham.ac.uk

 
twitter-promo-eps