School of Engineering Professional Services

The School of Engineering employs over 50 Professional Services staff delivering a range of support services to students and academic staff. Their specialist expertise assist in delivering the School’s wide range of activities - from School Operations to technical support for teaching and research, and support throughout the student journey from admissions to graduation. Details of the Professional Services teams in the School are given below.  

Operations

Operations Manager Mark Jeffery Email: m.c.jeffery@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44138
Operations Administrator Lily Cooksey Email: cookseyl@adf.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45137
Head of School’s PA Michelle Worrall Email: m.j.a.worrall@bham.ac.uk 
Extension: 45137
Gisbert Kapp Receptionist Mandy Dunn Email: m.j.dunn@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45630

Teaching Support

Teaching Support Manager Email: s.l.gardiner-hardy@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44220/45083
Sam Gardiner-Hardy



UG Team

Team email: engineeringsupport-ug@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45049/43564/45136

Senior Support Administrator: Debbie Cartwright
Support Administrator (Year 1 and 2): Vash Bejai
Support Administrator (Year 3 and 4): Sarah Williams

PGT Team


Team email: engineeringsupport-msc@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44191/47394/44319

Senior Support Administrator: Dean Chilton-Davies
Support Administrator (Civil/Mechanical and CPD programmes): Chris Joiner
Support Administrator (EESE and CPD programmes): Sam McCauley

PGR Team
Team email: engineeringsupport-research@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44160/44233

Senior Support Administrator: Sarah Cox
Support Administrator: Helena Neville

Admissions Team
Team email: pg-admissions-eng@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Team email: ug-admissions-eng@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45043/44230/45089

Admissions Officer: Becca Rice
Senior Admissions Administrator: Sharon Green
Senior Admissions Administrator: Alastair Moyes

Student Experience Team
Email: c.toney@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44347

Student Experience and Industrial Liaison Officer:  Carolyn Toney
Email: engineeringwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44267

Welfare Officer and Reasonable Adjustments Co-ordinator: Jack Carter

Technical Support

Civil Engineering 
Technical Manager Mike Vanderstam Email: m.vanderstam@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45044
Technical Staff David Allsopp Email: d.m.allsopp@bham.ac.uk
Mark Carter Email: m.carter@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45094
David Cope Email: d.c.cope@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45096
James Guest Email: j.j.guest@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45093
Luis Portela Email: l.m.duroportela@bham.ac.uk

Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering
Technical Manager Andy Dunn Email: a.p.dunn@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44353
Technical Staff Robert Davies Email: r.k.davies@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 43964
Donna Johnson Email: d.m.johnson@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 47382
Suyil Miah Email: s.miah.1@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44795
Adam Paruch Email: a.paruch@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 43966
John Rhys Davies Email: j.r.davies@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 58726
Mark Wager Email: m.j.wager@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44795
Alan Yates Email: a.c.yates@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 42206
Adnan Zentani Email: a.m.zentani@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44305

Mechanical Engineering
Technical Manager Carl Hingley Email: c.t.hingley@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Technical Staff Becky Charles
School Health & Safety Coordinator
Email: b.charles@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44256
Kevan Charlesworth Email: k.charlesworth@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44210
Jack Garrod Email: j.h.garrod@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Lee Gauntlet Email: l.p.gauntlet@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Pooria Ghavam Email: p.ghavam@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44237
Simon Payne-Rowan Email: s.m.payne-rowan@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44222
Brian Thomas
Stores
Email: b.v.thomas@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 42276
Peter Thornton
Buildings Manager
Email: p.l.thornton@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44207
Location: G63

Birmingham Centre for Railway Research and Education support

The Centre delivers world class research and thought leadership within railways, and offer an expanding portfolio of high-quality education programmes. The Centre is supported by an Academic and Management Team.