Contact us

The University’s Edgbaston campus is set in 250 acres and has all the facilities of a busy town. Lawns, mature trees and walkways contribute to the peaceful atmosphere and make the campus a wonderful spot for picnics and walking.

The School of Government and Society is located in Muirhead Tower (R21)

The building comprising 12,000sq.m of floor space between two towers. The tower includes a number of sustainable features including solar shading (known in the trade as brise soliel) to control temperatures, as well as low energy fans; timed lighting to reduce energy waste; natural ventilation systems and a heat source taken from the University’s combined heat and power generator.

The space has been designed to create modern, attractive spaces for teaching and research accommodating 150 academic offices, 230 "hubs" for post graduate research students, teaching rooms for up to 100 people and a 200 seat lecture theatre.

Edgbaston campus map

School of Government and Society contact:

Louise Munday
School Administrative Officer
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 7354
Email: l.munday@bham.ac.uk

Departmental contacts:

International Development Department

Avril Clark
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 5009
Email: a.a.clark@bham.ac.uk

Institute of Local Government Studies

Debbie Steffen
Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5008
Email: d.steffen@bham.ac.uk

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Sandra Glenn
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 6060
Email: s.p.glenn@bham.ac.uk 

Undergraduate contacts:

Deputy Learning and Teaching Manager (Undergraduate)
Mr. Marc Levasseur
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 6526
Email: m.l.levasseur@bham.ac.uk

Undergraduate Deputy Manager School of Government and Society
Emma Johnson
Tel: 0121 414 3910
Email: e.o.johnson@bham.ac.uk

UG Administrator
Veta Douglas
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 8017
Email: v.douglas@bham.ac.uk

UG Administrator
Chereece Ebanks
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 7268
Email: c.a.ebanks@bham.ac.uk 

Academic contacts

Political Science and International Relations
Dr Peter Kerr
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 7745
Email: p.kerr@bham.ac.uk

Sociology
Dr Justin Cruickshank
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6063
Email: j.cruickshank@bham.ac.uk 

European Politics, Society and Economics
Dr Richard Connolly
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 8219
Email: r.connolly@bham.ac.uk

More information:

Postgraduate contacts:

Taught postgraduate courses:

Institute of Local Government Studies (INLOGOV):

Sarah Smith
INLOGOV Postgraduate Programmes Manager
Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 8390
Email: s.e.smith.2@bham.ac.uk

Department of Political Science and International Studies (POLSIS):

Vicki Allen-Ahmed
POLSIS Postgraduate Taught Administrator
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 5921
Email: v.a.ahmed@bham.ac.uk

International Development Department (IDD):

Debra Beard
IDD Postgraduate Admissions Manager - on campus programmes
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 5034
Email: d.l.beard@bham.ac.uk

Distance learning:

Linda Curry
Distance Learning Manager
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 4969
Email: l.j.curry@bham.ac.uk

Doctoral research:

Tricia Carr 
Doctoral Research Student Administrator
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 3497
Email: p.a.carr@bham.ac.uk

More information:

Staff in the School

As you plan your journey to the University of Birmingham, consult the University’s guidance on the environment, sustainability and travel.

 
Campus Map

Contact:

School of Government and Society

Muirhead Tower

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston

Birmingham, B15 2TT

United Kingdom

 

About us

Find out about the School of Government and Society, available to read in a number of different languages:

 

English

中文繁體 (traditional Chinese)

中文简体 (simplified Chinese)

日本語 (Japanese)

русский (Russian)

 

Departments in the School:

International Development Department (IDD)

Institute of Local Government Studies (INLOGOV)

Department of Political Science and International Studies (POLSIS)

 

Twitter

 

Departmental blogs

idd-blog

inlogov-blog

POLSIS blog