Academic staff

Staff throughout the Department of Political Science and International Studies (POLSIS).

Head of Department: Professor David H. Dunn

Dr Gëzim Alpion

Dr Gëzim Alpion

Lecturer in Sociology
Director of Joint Honours and Combined programmes

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3241

Email g.i.alpion@bham.ac.uk

Dr Derek Averre

Dr Derek Averre

Senior Lecturer in Russian Foreign and Security Policy

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6364

Email d.l.averre@bham.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Bates

Dr Stephen Bates

Lecturer in Political Science
BA Political Science Programme Director

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6264

Email s.r.bates@bham.ac.uk

Dr Shelley Budgeon

Dr Shelley Budgeon

Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8621

Email s.budgeon@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Burnham

Professor Peter Burnham

Professor of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8225

Email p.burnham@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lorenzo Cladi

Dr Lorenzo Cladi

Lecturer in International Relations

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7535

Email l.cladi@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Connolly

Dr Richard Connolly

Co-Director of CREES
Senior Lecturer in Political Economy

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8219

Email r.connolly@bham.ac.uk

Professor Julian Cooper

Professor Julian Cooper

Emeritus Professor of Russian Economic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6345

Email j.m.cooper@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Dunn

Professor David Dunn

Professor in International Politics
Head of the Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3378

Email d.h.dunn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Finlay

Dr Christopher Finlay

Senior lecturer in Political Theory

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5091

Email c.j.finlay@bham.ac.uk

Dr Rita Floyd

Dr Rita Floyd

Birmingham Fellow in Conflict and Security

Email r.floyd@bham.ac.uk

Dr Emma Foster

Lecturer in International Politics and Gender

Email e.a.foster@bham.ac.uk

Dr Julie Gilson

Dr Julie Gilson

Senior Lecturer in Japanese Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3305

Email j.a.gilson@bham.ac.uk

Professor Philip Hanson

Professor of the Political Economy of Russia and Eastern Europe, Retired Emeritus (from 2002)

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6353

Email philip.hanson@btinternet.com

Dr Tim Haughton

Dr Tim Haughton

Reader in European Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6360

Email t.j.haughton@bham.ac.uk

Dr Isabelle Hertner

Dr Isabelle Hertner

Lecturer in German and European Politics and Society
Deputy Director of the Institute for German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8637

Email i.hertner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Laura Jenkins

Lecturer in Political Science

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4710

Email l.m.jenkins@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sara Jones

Dr Sara Jones

Birmingham Fellow

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7535

Email s.jones.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Deema Kaneff

Reader in Social Anthropology

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7339

Email d.kaneff@bham.ac.uk

Nino Kemoklidze

Nino Kemoklidze

Research Associate/Visiting Lecturer

Email nxk790@bham.ac.uk

Dr Peter Kerr

Dr Peter Kerr

Senior Lecturer in Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7745

Email p.kerr@bham.ac.uk

Dr George Kyris

Dr George Kyris

Lecturer in International and European Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8616

Email g.kyris@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Lock-Pullan

Dr Richard Lock-Pullan

Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4058

Email r.j.lockpullan@bham.ac.uk

Professor Scott Lucas

Professor Scott Lucas

Professor of American Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5763

Email w.s.lucas@bham.ac.uk

Dr Huw Macartney

Dr Huw Macartney

Lecturer in Political Economy

Email h.macartney@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cerwyn Moore

Senior lecturer in International Relations

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3059

Email c.moore.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard North

Lecturer in Political Theory

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4711

Email r.north.2@bham.ac.uk

Dr Julian Pänke

Dr Julian Pänke

Lecturer in European Politics and DAAD Fachlektor

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7184

Email j.p.paenke@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Preston

Professor Peter Preston

Professor of Political Sociology

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6527

Email p.w.preston@bham.ac.uk

Dr Adam Quinn

Dr Adam Quinn

Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5313

Email a.j.quinn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Shorten

Dr Richard Shorten

Lecturer in Political Theory

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7570

Email r.c.shorten@bham.ac.uk

Dr Asaf Siniver

Reader in International Security

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6386

Email a.siniver@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nicola Smith

Dr Nicola Smith

Senior Lecturer in Political Science

Telephone +44 (0)121 288 2937/+44 (0)121 414 7569

Email n.j.smith.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jill Steans

Senior Lecturer in International Relations Theory
Academic Lead Professional Development Module, College of Social Sciences

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6278

Email j.a.steans@bham.ac.uk

Professor Colin Thain

Professor Colin Thain

Professor of Political Science

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 1052

Email c.thain@bham.ac.uk

Dr Graham Timmins

Dr Graham Timmins

Director of Education, School of Government and Society
Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5019

Email g.timmins@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tsering Topgyal

Dr Tsering Topgyal

Lecturer in International Relations

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8228

Email t.topgyal@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Dr Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Lecturer in International Organisations

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6224

Email s.vezirgiannidou@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Vieira

Dr Marco Vieira

Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Postgraduate Research Director

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6265

Email m.a.vieira@bham.ac.uk

Professor Mark Webber

Professor Mark Webber

Professor of International Politics
Head of Government and Society

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8181/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email m.a.webber.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor of International Relations
Director of the The Institute for Conflict, Cooperation and Security

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6215/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email n.j.wheeler@bham.ac.uk

Dr David White

Dr David White

Lecturer in Politics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8237

Email d.j.white.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Reader in Politics and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6356

Email k.wolczuk@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor of International Security
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Social Sciences

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8230

Email s.wolff@bham.ac.uk

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Senior Lecturer in Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6362

Email g.yemelianova@bham.ac.uk

 

Key contacts:

Head of Department

Professor David H. Dunn

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 3378 Email: d.h.dunn@bham.ac.uk

 

Postgraduate Director

Asaf Siniver 

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 6386

Email: a.siniver@bham.ac.uk

 

Doctoral Research Director

Dr Adam Quinn

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 5313

Email: a.j.quinn@bham.ac.uk