Academic Staff

CREES encompasses a large network of scholars, some of whom belong to the core academic staff of the Centre, others are associate members (who are members of different departments in the University of Birmingham), and many more are honorary members of the department.

Dr Derek Averre

Dr Derek Averre

Senior Lecturer in Russian Foreign and Security Policy

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6364

Email d.l.averre@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Connolly

Dr Richard Connolly

Senior Lecturer in Political Economy

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8219

Email r.connolly@bham.ac.uk

Professor Julian Cooper

Professor of Russian Economic Studies

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6346

Email j.m.cooper@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tim Haughton

Dr Tim Haughton

Reader in European Politics

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6360

Email t.j.haughton@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kamala Imranli-Lowe

Dr Kamala Imranli-Lowe

Research Fellow

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Email k.imranli-lowe@bham.ac.uk

Dr Deema Kaneff

Reader in Social Anthropology

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7339

Email d.kaneff@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cerwyn Moore

Senior lecturer in International Relations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3059

Email c.moore.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kevork Oskanian

Research Fellow

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Email k.oskanian@bham.ac.uk

Dr Graham Timmins

Dr Graham Timmins

Director of Education, School of Government and Society
Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5019

Email g.timmins@bham.ac.uk

Dr David White

Dr David White

Lecturer in Politics

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8237

Email d.j.white.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Reader in Politics and International Studies

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6356

Email k.wolczuk@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor of International Security
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Social Sciences

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8230

Email s.wolff@bham.ac.uk

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Senior Lecturer in Eurasian Studies

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6362

Email g.yemelianova@bham.ac.uk

Staff in the School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

Tanya Lipatova

Russian Language Tutor

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6352

Email t.lipatova@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jeremy Morris

Dr Jeremy Morris

Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6455

Email j.b.morris@bham.ac.uk

Staff in the Department of History

Dr Arfon Rees

Reader in Soviet and Russian History

Department of History

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6354

Email e.a.rees@bham.ac.uk

Staff in the Birmingham Law School

Dr Rilka Dragneva-Lewers

Dr Rilka Dragneva-Lewers

Senior Lecturer

Birmingham Law School

Telephone 0121 414 3146

Email r.dragnevalewers@bham.ac.uk

Staff in the School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr Jonathan Oldfield

Dr Jonathan Oldfield

Reader in Russian Environmental Studies

School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2943

Email j.d.oldfield@bham.ac.uk

Staff in the School of English, Drama, and American & Canadian Studies

Dr Rose Whyman

Dr Rose Whyman

Senior Lecturer in Drama and Theatre Arts
Head of Department

Department of Drama and Theatre Arts

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6005

Email r.whyman@bham.ac.uk