Comparative political systems and public policy

Key research groups:

Research projects:

Translation across borders: exploring the use, relevance and impact of academic research in the policy process (Jan 2014 - Mar 2015)

Description
This project seeks to explore and suggest ways to address the frustrations which attempts to translate research into policy can bring. A focus of concern for academics is the fidelity of translation to their research findings. For policy-makers, the focus is often the function of the translation for the demands they are seeking to address.

Evaluation of Community Organisers and Community First programmes (Nov 2012 - Feb 2015)

Description
The evaluation will assess the delivery and social impact of both programmes, providing continuous learning and relevant insights for programme development.

Security-Democracy Nexus in the Caucasus (CASCADE) (2014-2016)

Description
The CASCADE project will: 1.scrutinise Caucasian states and societies for the root causes of conflict and insecurity, 2.conduct synergetic research on democracy and security in the Caucasus, 3.analyse the links between the region and its wider neighbourhood, 4.provide forward-looking analysis on regional security and democratisation processes, and 5.develop a set of proposals on how the EU could enhance its role in the region.

Exploring the Role of the EU in Domestic Change in the Post-Soviet States (2011 - 13)

Description
The project seeks to answer the following question: 'What role does the European Union (EU) play in domestic change in the post-Soviet states'?

More research projects in the School.

Affiliated staff:

Dr David Bailey

Dr David Bailey

Lecturer

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2991

Email d.j.bailey@bham.ac.uk

Dr Adrian Campbell

Dr Adrian Campbell

Senior Lecturer
Convenor of Masters in Public Administration and Masters in Public Administration and Development

International Development Department

Telephone +(44) 121 414 4973/0786 706 1283

Email a.campbell@bham.ac.uk

Dr Laurence Cooley

Teaching Fellow

International Development Department

Email l.p.cooley@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tim Haughton

Dr Tim Haughton

Reader in European Politics

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6360

Email t.j.haughton@bham.ac.uk

Dr Isabelle Hertner

Dr Isabelle Hertner

Lecturer in German and European Politics and Society
Deputy Director of the Institute for German Studies

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8637

Email i.hertner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sara Jones

Dr Sara Jones

Birmingham Fellow

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7535

Email s.jones.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Deema Kaneff

Reader in Social Anthropology

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7339

Email d.kaneff@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tsering Topgyal

Dr Tsering Topgyal

Lecturer in International Relations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8228

Email t.topgyal@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Dr. Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Lecturer in International Organisations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6224

Email s.vezirgiannidou@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Vieira

Dr Marco Vieira

Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Postgraduate Research Director

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6265

Email m.a.vieira@bham.ac.uk

Dr David White

Dr David White

Lecturer in Politics

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8237

Email d.j.white.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Dr Kataryna Wolczuk

Reader in Politics and International Studies

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6356

Email k.wolczuk@bham.ac.uk

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Dr Galina Yemelianova

Senior Lecturer in Eurasian Studies

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6362

Email g.yemelianova@bham.ac.uk