Governance and the state

Key research groups:

Research projects:

OECD 2011 Ensuring Fragile States are Not Left Behind (Oct 2011 - Feb 2012)

Description
The background to this Annual Report (since 2005) is increasing concern about the implications for international stability and development progress resulting from state fragility and the growing recognition that aid is one of many elements in the international effort in fragile states and that there are important linkages between activities that can and cannot be counted as ODA eligible.

State Fragility and Rural Development (Jul 2013 - Mar 2014)

Description
Over the past year Dr. Martin Rew at IDD together with Dr. Markus-Schultze-Kraft of the Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex, have been conducting research on 'State Fragility and Rural Development' for the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (German: Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung), abbreviated BMZ.

Ways of Knowing: Exploring the different registers, values and subjectivities of collaborative research (Feb 2013 - Jan 2014)

Description
This diverse inter-disciplinary project will draw together different perspectives produced through collaborative research generating a range of resources aimed at different audiences to inform the development of creative and reflexive collaborative practice.

Community governance in a context of decentralisation (Nov 2012 - Apr 2013)

Description
This review will explore why these crucial concerns remain unresolved and consider creative responses to issues of demand, mobilisation, equity and risk.

Towards transformative co-production in local public services (Nov 2012 - Apr 2013)

Description
This review explore the tensions in thinking about co-production as a substitutive response to austerity and consider when, where and how citizens and professionals can work together to deliver transformation in local public services.

More research projects in the School.

Affiliated staff:

Dr Stephen Bates

Dr Stephen Bates

Lecturer in Political Science
BA Political Science Programme Director

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6264

Email s.r.bates@bham.ac.uk

Professor Richard Batley

Professor Richard Batley

Emeritus Professor of Development Administration

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4985

Email r.a.batley@bham.ac.uk

Dr Karin Bottom

Dr Karin Bottom

Lecturer in British Politics and Research Methods

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4972

Email k.a.bottom@bham.ac.uk

Professor Tony Bovaird

Professor of Public Management and Policy

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5008

Email t.bovaird@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Burnham

Professor Peter Burnham

Professor of Political Science and International Studies

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8225

Email p.burnham@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Connolly

Dr Richard Connolly

Senior Lecturer in Political Economy

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8219

Email r.connolly@bham.ac.uk

Professor Julian Cooper

Professor of Russian Economic Studies

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6346

Email j.m.cooper@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Dunn

Professor David Dunn

Professor in International Politics
Head of the Department of Political Science and International Studies

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3378

Email d.h.dunn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Durose

Dr Catherine Durose

Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, School of Government and Society
Senior Lecturer, Institute of Local Government Studies

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 1074

Email c.durose@bham.ac.uk

Dr Emma Foster

Lecturer in International Politics and Gender

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Email e.a.foster@bham.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Jeffares

Dr Stephen Jeffares

Lecturer
Director of Postgraduate Research, INLOGOV

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 1075

Email s.r.jeffares@bham.ac.uk

Dr Peter Kerr

Dr Peter Kerr

Senior Lecturer in Politics

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7745

Email p.kerr@bham.ac.uk

Dr Will Leggett

Dr Will Leggett

Senior Lecturer

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8628

Email w.p.leggett@bham.ac.uk

Dr Huw Macartney

Dr Huw Macartney

Lecturer in Political Economy

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Email h.macartney@bham.ac.uk

Claire Mcloughlin

Claire Mcloughlin

Research Fellow

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7592

Email c.mcloughlin@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Preston

Professor Peter Preston

Professor of Political Sociology

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6527

Email p.w.preston@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Raine

Professor John Raine

Professor of Management in Criminal Justice

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5008

Email j.w.raine@bham.ac.uk

Professor Chris Skelcher

Professor Chris Skelcher

Professor of Public Governance

Institute of Local Government Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4962

Email c.k.skelcher@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nicola Smith

Dr Nicola Smith

Senior Lecturer in Political Science

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 288 2937/+44 (0)121 414 7569

Email n.j.smith.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jill Steans

Senior Lecturer in International Relations Theory
Academic Lead Professional Development Module, College of Social Sciences

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6278

Email j.a.steans@bham.ac.uk

Professor Colin Thain

Professor Colin Thain

Professor of Political Science

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 1052

Email c.thain@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Dr. Sevasti-Eleni Vezirgiannidou

Lecturer in International Organisations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6224

Email s.vezirgiannidou@bham.ac.uk