International politics and security studies

Key research groups:

Research projects: 

Coastal Ecosystem Services for East Africa

Description
This project draws on previous research experience, including from Swahili Seas, to find ways to increase the number of communities that can benefit from PES schemes and the range of ecosystems and ecosystem services that can be protected. A key concern in seeking to upscale pro-poor coastal PES schemes is the need to identify and understand potential barriers and supporting mechanisms within different levels of governance.

Networking for fisheries co-management on Lake Victoria, East Africa (Jun 2014 - May 2016)

Description
This research will contribute to co-management theory and practice by investigating the personal networks of fisheries stakeholders to find out who, and what types of relationships, influence fishers' behaviour. Relationships to be investigated might include who is consulted to gain information on where to fish, to whom fishers turn to borrow money or find employment. Such relationships influence fisherfolk behaviour and, in turn, attitudes to and engagement with co-management.

OECD 2011 Ensuring Fragile States are Not Left Behind (Oct 2011 - Feb 2012)

Description
The background to this Annual Report (since 2005) is increasing concern about the implications for international stability and development progress resulting from state fragility and the growing recognition that aid is one of many elements in the international effort in fragile states and that there are important linkages between activities that can and cannot be counted as ODA eligible.

The Future of American Power (Jan 2013 - Dec 2014)

Description
This is an ESRC Seminar Series running in 2013-14, with the aim of bringing together scholars of internationally-leading calibre from the United States and the UK for five all-day events to discuss the nature, causes and consequences of changes in the United States' dominance in the international distribution of power.

The Challenges to Trust-Building in Nuclear Worlds (2009-2013)

Description
Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler received a 3-year ESRC / AHRC fellowship to pursue the Trust-building in Nuclear Worlds project as part of the Global Uncertainties programme, which brings together the activities of the UK's Research Councils to better integrate current investments and to develop and support new multi-disciplinary research in response to global security challenges.

More research projects in the School.

Affiliated staff:

Dr Derek Averre

Dr Derek Averre

Senior Lecturer in Russian Foreign and Security Policy

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6364

Email d.l.averre@bham.ac.uk

Dr Danielle Beswick

Dr Danielle Beswick

Senior Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7976

Email d.beswick@bham.ac.uk

Dr Laurence Cooley

Teaching Fellow

International Development Department

Email l.p.cooley@bham.ac.uk

Professor Julian Cooper

Professor Julian Cooper

Emeritus Professor of Russian Economic Studies

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6345

Email j.m.cooper@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Dunn

Professor David Dunn

Professor in International Politics
Head of the Department of Political Science and International Studies

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3378

Email d.h.dunn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Fisher

Dr Jonathan Fisher

Lecturer in International Development

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3492

Email j.fisher@bham.ac.uk

Siân Herbert

Siân Herbert

Research Fellow, GSDRC

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4965

Email s.herbert@bham.ac.uk

Professor Paul Jackson

Professor Paul Jackson

Professor of African Politics

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7293

Email p.b.jackson@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Nicolas Lemay-Hebert

Dr. Nicolas Lemay-Hebert

Senior Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2693

Email n.lemayhebert@bham.ac.uk

Dr Heather Marquette

Dr Heather Marquette

Reader in Development Politics
Director of Research, Developmental Leadership Program (DLP)
Academic Director, GSDRC

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2296

Email h.a.marquette@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cerwyn Moore

Senior lecturer in International Relations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3059

Email c.moore.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Nunan

Dr Fiona Nunan

Senior Lecturer in Environment and Development
Director of the International Development Department

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3061

Email f.s.nunan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Adam Quinn

Dr Adam Quinn

Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5313

Email a.j.quinn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Martin Rew

Dr Martin Rew

Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4982

Email m.j.rew@bham.ac.uk

Dr Asaf Siniver

Reader in International Security

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6386

Email a.siniver@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Vieira

Dr Marco Vieira

Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Postgraduate Research Director

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6265

Email m.a.vieira@bham.ac.uk

Dr Robert Watt

Dr Robert Watt

Lecturer

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6523

Email r.n.watt@bham.ac.uk

Professor Mark Webber

Professor Mark Webber

Professor of International Politics
Head of Government and Society

School of Government and Society

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8181/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email m.a.webber.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor of International Relations
Director of the The Institute for Conflict, Cooperation and Security

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6215/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email n.j.wheeler@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor of International Security
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Social Sciences

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8230

Email s.wolff@bham.ac.uk