International politics and security studies

Key research groups:

Research projects: 

OECD 2011 Ensuring Fragile States are Not Left Behind (Oct 2011 - Feb 2012)

Description
The background to this Annual Report (since 2005) is increasing concern about the implications for international stability and development progress resulting from state fragility and the growing recognition that aid is one of many elements in the international effort in fragile states and that there are important linkages between activities that can and cannot be counted as ODA eligible.

The Future of American Power (Jan 2013 - Dec 2014)

Description
This is an ESRC Seminar Series running in 2013-14, with the aim of bringing together scholars of internationally-leading calibre from the United States and the UK for five all-day events to discuss the nature, causes and consequences of changes in the United States' dominance in the international distribution of power.

The Challenges to Trust-Building in Nuclear Worlds (2009-2013)

Description
Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler received a 3-year ESRC / AHRC fellowship to pursue the Trust-building in Nuclear Worlds project as part of the Global Uncertainties programme, which brings together the activities of the UK's Research Councils to better integrate current investments and to develop and support new multi-disciplinary research in response to global security challenges.

The Western Framing of the Armenia-Azerbaijan, Nagorno-Karabakh Conflict: A Factor in Resolving the Conflict, or in its Perpetuation? (Jan 2014 - Jan 2015)

Description
The project seeks to provide new first-hand data and insightful analysis into the process by which the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict has been framed through a comparative study of major existing British, American and EU political documents, English-language academic and journalistic works on the conflict, as well as through interviewing relevant EU and other Western policy-makers, British and other Western academics and journalists.

Enhancing Strategic Analytical Capabilities in NATO Partner Countries (Jan 2014 - Dec 2014)

Description
The aim of this project is to contribute to building truly interactive and meaningful collaboration between academics from NATO and EU member states and partner countries in the Western Balkans and EaP area and to disseminate knowledge and understanding of current and new threats in these countries by promoting independent and critical thinking from an interdisciplinary and cross-cultural perspective.

More research projects in the School.

Affiliated staff:

Dr Derek Averre

Dr Derek Averre

Senior Lecturer in Russian Foreign and Security Policy

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6364

Email d.l.averre@bham.ac.uk

Dr Danielle Beswick

Dr Danielle Beswick

Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7976

Email d.beswick@bham.ac.uk

Dr Laurence Cooley

Teaching Fellow

International Development Department

Email l.p.cooley@bham.ac.uk

Professor Julian Cooper

Professor of Russian Economic Studies

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6346

Email j.m.cooper@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Dunn

Professor David Dunn

Professor in International Politics
Head of the Department of Political Science and International Studies

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3378

Email d.h.dunn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Fisher

Dr Jonathan Fisher

Lecturer in International Development

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3492

Email j.fisher@bham.ac.uk

Siân Herbert

Siân Herbert

Research Fellow, GSDRC

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4965

Email s.herbert@bham.ac.uk

Professor Paul Jackson

Professor Paul Jackson

Professor of African Politics

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7293

Email p.b.jackson@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Nicolas Lemay-Hebert

Dr. Nicolas Lemay-Hebert

Senior Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2693

Email n.lemayhebert@bham.ac.uk

Dr Heather Marquette

Dr Heather Marquette

Reader in Development Politics
Director of Research, Developmental Leadership Program (DLP)
Academic Director, GSDRC

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2296

Email h.a.marquette@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cerwyn Moore

Senior lecturer in International Relations

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3059

Email c.moore.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Nunan

Dr Fiona Nunan

Lecturer in Environment and Development
Director of the International Development Department

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3061

Email f.s.nunan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Adam Quinn

Dr Adam Quinn

Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5313

Email a.j.quinn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Martin Rew

Dr Martin Rew

Lecturer

International Development Department

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4982

Email m.j.rew@bham.ac.uk

Dr Asaf Siniver

Senior Lecturer in International Security

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6386

Email a.siniver@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Vieira

Dr Marco Vieira

Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Postgraduate Research Director

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6265

Email m.a.vieira@bham.ac.uk

Dr Robert Watt

Dr Robert Watt

Lecturer

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6523

Email r.n.watt@bham.ac.uk

Professor Mark Webber

Professor Mark Webber

Professor of International Politics
Head of Government and Society

School of Government and Society

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8181/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email m.a.webber.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor Nicholas J. Wheeler

Professor of International Relations
Director of the The Institute for Conflict, Cooperation and Security

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6215/Tina Aston: +44 (0)121 414 8398

Email n.j.wheeler@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor Stefan Wolff

Professor of International Security
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Social Sciences

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8230

Email s.wolff@bham.ac.uk