View staff by department

Staff throughout the School of Government and Society.

Head of School: Professor Mark Webber

International Development Department

Head of Department: Dr Fiona Nunan

NameJob title
Dr Philip AmisSenior Lecturer
Edward AvenellResearch Administrator
Professor Richard BatleyEmeritus Professor of Development Administration
Dr Danielle BeswickSenior Lecturer
Dr Adrian CampbellSenior Lecturer
Convenor of Masters in Public Administration and Masters in Public Administration and Development
Dražen CepićResearch Fellow
Dr Ellie ChownsTeaching Fellow
Dr David CobleyTeaching Fellow
Dr Laurence CooleyTeaching Fellow
Dr Simon DelayLecturer
Dr Jonathan FisherSenior Lecturer in African Politics
Huma HaiderResearch Fellow, GSDRC
Siân HerbertResearch Fellow, GSDRC
Dr Tom HewittLecturer in International Development
Iffat IdrisResearch Fellow, GSDRC
Professor Paul JacksonProfessor of African Politics
Edward LawsResearch Fellow
Dr. Nicolas Lemay-HebertSenior Lecturer
Dr Robert LeursSenior Lecturer
Brian LucasManager, GSDRC
Dr Heather MarquetteReader in Development Politics
Director of Research, Developmental Leadership Program (DLP)
Academic Director, GSDRC
Claire McloughlinResearch Fellow
Dr Fiona NunanSenior Lecturer in Environment and Development
Director of the International Development Department
Sarah O'ConnorInformation Officer, GSDRC
Dr Martin OttmannBirmingham Fellow
Dr Caryn PeifferResearch Fellow
Dr Suda PereraResearch Fellow
Pamela PozarnyResearch Fellow, GSDRC
Professor Carole RakodiEmeritus Professor, Director, Religions and Development Research Programme
Dr Martin RewLecturer
Alina Rocha MenocalSenior Research Fellow, Developmental Leadership Program
Willem Van EekelenTeaching Fellow

Visit the International Development Department (IDD).

Institute of Local Government Studies

Head of Department: Catherine Staite

NameJob title
Professor Anthony BertelliProfessor of the Politics of Public Policy, Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Research (NYU)
Dr Karin BottomLecturer British Politics and Public Policy
Professor Tony BovairdEmeritus Professor of Public Management and Governance
Dr Catherine DuroseDirector of Research and Knowledge Transfer, School of Government and Society
Senior Lecturer, Institute of Local Government Studies
Dr Stephen JeffaresLecturer
Director of Postgraduate Research, INLOGOV
Professor Vivien LowndesProfessor of Public Policy
Catherine ManganSenior Fellow
Director, Public Service Academy
Dr Steven Parker
Professor John RaineProfessor of Management in Criminal Justice
Professor Chris SkelcherProfessor of Public Governance
Catherine StaiteDirector of INLOGOV
Dr Peter WattReader in Public Sector Economics
Dr Philip WhitemanLecturer

Visit the Institute of Local Government Studies (INLOGOV).

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Head of Department: Professor David Dunn

NameJob title
Dr Ross AbbinnettSenior Lecturer
Dr Gëzim AlpionSociology Admissions Director
Dr Derek AverreSenior Lecturer in Russian Foreign and Security Policy
Dr David BaileyLecturer
Dr Stephen BatesLecturer in Political Science
BA Political Science Programme Director
Dr Shelley BudgeonSenior Lecturer in Sociology
Professor Peter BurnhamProfessor of Political Science and International Studies
Dr Tereza CapelosSenior Lecturer in Political Psychology
Director for the MSc in Global Cooperation and Security
Dr Lorenzo CladiLecturer in International Relations
Dr Richard ConnollyCo-Director of CREES
Senior Lecturer in Political Economy
Professor Julian CooperEmeritus Professor of Russian Economic Studies
Dr Justin CruickshankSenior Lecturer
Professor David DunnProfessor in International Politics
Head of the Department of Political Science and International Studies
Dr Christopher FinlayReader in Political Theory
Dr Rita FloydBirmingham Fellow in Conflict and Security
Dr Emma FosterLecturer in International Politics and Gender
Dr Jamie GaskarthSenior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations
Dr Julie GilsonReader in Asian Studies
Dr Mark GoodwinLecturer
Professor Philip HansonProfessor of the Political Economy of Russia and Eastern Europe, Retired Emeritus (from 2002)
Dr Tim HaughtonReader in European Politics
Dr Isabelle HertnerLecturer in German and European Politics and Society
Deputy Director of the Institute for German Studies
Dr Kamala Imranli-LoweResearch Fellow
Dr Laura JenkinsLecturer in Political Science
Dr Deema KaneffReader in Social Anthropology
Dr Nino KemoklidzeResearch Associate/Visiting Lecturer
Dr Peter KerrSenior Lecturer in Politics
Dr Andrew KnopsLecturer
Dr George KyrisLecturer in International and European Politics
Dr Will LeggettSenior Lecturer
Dr Richard Lock-PullanSenior Lecturer in International Politics
Professor Scott LucasProfessor of American Studies
Dr Huw MacartneySenior Lecturer in Political Economy
Dr Cerwyn MooreSenior lecturer in International Relations
Dr Elizabeth MorrowResearch Fellow
Dr Richard NorthLecturer in Political Theory
Dr Kevork OskanianResearch Fellow
Dr Julian PänkeLecturer in European Politics and DAAD Fachlektor
Emeritus Professor Peter PrestonEmeritus Professor of Political Sociology
Dr Adam QuinnSenior Lecturer in International Politics
Dr Nicole SciclunaLecturer in Politics and International Relations
Dr Richard ShortenLecturer in Political Theory
Dr Asaf SiniverReader in International Security
Dr Nicola SmithSenior Lecturer in Political Science
Dr Jill SteansSenior Lecturer in International Relations Theory
Academic Lead Professional Development Module, College of Social Sciences
Professor Colin ThainProfessor of Political Science
Dr Graham TimminsDirector of Education, School of Government and Society
Senior Lecturer in International Politics
Dr Tsering TopgyalLecturer in International Relations
Dr Sevasti-Eleni VezirgiannidouLecturer in International Organisations
Dr Marco VieiraSenior Lecturer in International Relations
Postgraduate Research Director
Dr Robert WattLecturer
Professor Mark WebberProfessor of International Politics
Head of Government and Society
Professor Nicholas J. WheelerProfessor of International Relations
Director of the The Institute for Conflict, Cooperation and Security
Dr David WhiteLecturer in Politics
Dr Kataryna WolczukReader in Politics and International Studies
Professor Stefan WolffProfessor of International Security
Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Social Sciences
Dr Christalla YakinthouBirmingham Fellow
Dr Galina YemelianovaSenior Lecturer in Eurasian Studies
Dr Sotirios ZartaloudisLecturer in Politics

Visit the Department of Political Science and International Studies (POLSIS).