CCCS conference: programme

A two-day programme featuring roundtables and audience discussion to reflect on the legacies of the CCCS.


Day one (24/06/14)

8.45-9.15am – Coffee and Registration

Welcome and Introductions (9.15-9.30am)

Situating the Centre (9.30-11.00am) 
The opening session of the conference offers historical interpretations of the Centre.  It attempts to explore the social, political and cultural contexts of the Centre from its origins in the New Left, development into the 1960s, 70s and 80s and its closure in 2002.  The format will be three papers followed by half an hour audience discussion, chaired by Professor Matthew Hilton.

Dennis Dworkin (Professor of History, University of Nevada)
Geoff Eley (Karl Pohrt Distinguished University Professor of Contemporary History, University of Michigan)
Ann Gray (Emerita Professor of Cultural Studies, University of Lincoln)

11.00-11.15am – Coffee

Pedagogy and Practices (11.15-1.15pm)
The aim of this session is to reflect on the Centre’s distinctive working practices and approach to intellectual work.  It will explore themes including the relationship between theory, politics and practice, the process of collaborative research and how these practices developed at the Centre over time.  Chaired by Professor Angela McRobbie, the format will be a roundtable introduction by panellists, followed by one hour audience discussion.

Ros Brunt (Visiting Research Fellow, Sheffield Hallam University)
Tony Jefferson (Emeritus Professor of Criminology, Keele University)
John Clarke (Emeritus Professor of Social Policy, Open University)
Rebecca O’Rourke (Senior Lecturer in Clinical Education, University of Leeds)
Richard Johnson (former director of the CCCS)

1.15-2.15pm – Lunch

Politics (2.15-4.15pm)

This session attempts to explore the significance of various strands of politics within the Centre’s project.  This includes interpretations of Marxisms, post-structuralism, the emergence and development of feminisms and anti-racisms and the influence these had on the Centre’s evolving interests and ways of working.  Chaired by Professor Geoff Eley, the format will be a roundtable introduction by panellists, followed by one hour audience discussion.

Maureen McNeil (Professor of Women’s Studies and Cultural Studies, Lancaster University)
Paul Gilroy (Professor of American and English Literature, King’s College London)
Gregor McLennan (Professor of Sociology, University of Bristol)   
David Morley (Professor of Communications, Goldsmiths, University of London)
Jackie Stacey (Professor of Media and Cultural Studies, University of Manchester)

4.15-4.30pm – Coffee

Stuart Hall in Conversation (video interview with the late Stuart Hall) (4.30-5.30pm)

6.30pm-8.15pm – visit to Midlands Arts Centre for the CCCS: 50 Years On exhibition (transport will be provided), with light buffet and drinks reception. Coach departs (from the Barber Institute) promptly at 6pm.

8.15pm – showing of the Stuart Hall Project, Midland Arts Centre, with an introduction by Professor Jackie Stacey (tickets to be made available separately from the Midland Arts Centre)

Day two (25/06/14)

8.45-9.15am – Coffee

Global Cultural Studies (9.15-11.15am)
This session focuses on how cultural studies has emerged in various regions around the world.  It will attempt to explore questions such as: out of what influences, needs and visions did cultural studies grow?  What shapes has cultural studies taken?  What relations were or are there with cultural studies in other regions?  Chaired by Professor Maureen McNeil, the format will be a roundtable introduction by panellists, followed by one hour audience discussion.

Lidia Curti (Honorary Professor of English, University of Naples)
Iain Chambers (Professor of Cultural and Postcolonial Studies, University of Naples)
Mikko Lehtonen (Professor of Media Culture, University of Tampere)
Tomoko Tamari (Lecturer in Sociology, Goldsmiths, University of London)
Huang Zhuoyue (Distinguished Professor of Literature, Beijing Language and Culture University)
Keyan Tomaselli (Senior Professor and Director for the Centre for Communication, Media and Society, University of KwaZulu-Natal)

11.15-11.30am – Coffee

Inter-disciplinarity (11.30-1.30pm)
The focus of this session is on the influence of the Centre’s work on established disciplines and the actual processes of inter-disciplinary work.  What, for example, are the benefits and disadvantages of inter-disciplinary practice?  In what ways can the Centre’s work be said to have informed practice in established disciplines such as History and English?  How has this changed over time?  Chaired by Professor Ann Gray, the format will be a roundtable introduction by panellists, followed by one hour audience discussion.

Jo Littler (Senior Lecturer in Cultural Industries, City University London)
Bernhard Rieger (Senior Lecturer in British History, University College London)
Larry Grossberg (Morris Davis Distinguished Professor of Communication Studies and Cultural Studies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Becky Conekin (Senior Lecturer in British History, Yale University)

1.30-2.30pm – Lunch

External Dialogues (2.30-4.30pm)

This session will attempt to explore the Centre’s relationship with and influence on the cultural and political milieu beyond the academy.  Areas that will be focused on include the media, community politics, youth culture and artistic practice and policy.  Chaired by Professor John Clarke, the format will be a roundtable introduction by panellists, followed by one hour audience discussion.

Dick Hebdige (Professor of Interdisciplinary/Experimental Studies, University of California, Santa Barbara)
Dorothy Hobson (Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Media, University of Wolverhampton)
Chas Critcher (Visiting Professor in Media and Communications, University of Swansea)
Ranjit Sondhi (Founder of Asian Resource Centre, lay member of University of Birmingham Council)
Bob Findlay (Equality Training Officer, University of Wolverhampton)
Isaac Julien (artist and filmmaker)
Roger Shannon (Professor of Film and Television, Edge Hill University)

Acknowledgements, thanks and close (4.30-4.45pm)