Academic Staff

Birmingham Law School’s academic staff are nationally and internationally recognised leaders in teaching, pedagogical innovation, and legal research. Our staff is highly international, and we are proud of the diversity of approaches, scholarship, teaching, and backgrounds that are represented in our faculty.

The academic staff profile pages provide biographical information, teaching interests, and research activities for all members of our faculty. All staff hold office and feedback hours in every week of the teaching term, during which students are invited to visit them to discuss their studies, their career aspirations, their independent research work, and their activities in the University.

Members of the faculty are frequently engaged by governments, the media, NGOs, and the private sector, bringing their academic expertise to bear outside of the lecture and seminar rooms of the School. Contact details are available on the individual profile pages.

Head of School:

Academic Staff:

NameJob title
George ApplebeyVisting Lecturer in Residence
Professor Anthony ArnullBarber Professor of Jurisprudence
Director of Education, College of Arts & Law
Professor John BaldwinEmeritus Professor of Judicial Administration
Sophie BoyronSenior Lecturer
Dr Lloyd BrownTeaching Fellow
Dr Gavin ByrneSenior Lecturer
Emily CarrollCEPLER Teaching Fellow
Dr Aleksandra CavoskiLecturer
Dr Janine Natalya ClarkReader in Gender, International Criminal Law and Transitional Justice
Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Maria Anna CorvagliaLecturer in Law
Professor Sean CoyleProfessor of Jurisprudence
Professor Robert CryerProfessor of International and Criminal Law
Professor Fiona de LondrasProfessor of Global Legal Studies
Deputy Head of Birmingham Law School
Dr Katherine DoolinSenior Lecturer
Dr Rilka Dragneva-LewersReader in Law, Development and Regional Integration
Professor Evelyn EllisEmeritus Professor of Law
Professor Nelson EnonchongBarber Professor of Law
Mairead EnrightSenior Lecturer
Seb EskauriatzaTeaching Fellow
Samantha FaircloughTeaching Fellow
Emma FlintBirmingham Fellow (Learning and Teaching)
Director of Education (CEPLER)
Professor Joanna GrayProfessor of Financial Law and Regulation
Dr Gulara GuliyevaLecturer
Professor Rosie HardingProfessor of Law and Society
Dr Steven HazelwoodVisiting Lecturer
Dr Adrian HuntSenior Lecturer
Dr Carol JonesReader
Professor Robert LeeProfessor
Head of Birmingham Law School
CEPLER Director
Dr Julian LonbaySenior Lecturer
Postgraduate Research Admissions Tutor
eLearning development
Miss Theresa LynchTeaching Fellow
Centre for Professional Legal Education and Reserach
Dr Bharat MalkaniLecturer
Dr Maureen MappTeaching Fellow
Christina MartinReseach Assistant
Dr Natasa MavronicolaSenior Lecturer in Law
Dr Karen McAuliffeReader in Law
Birmingham Fellow
Dr Kieren McGuffinTeaching Fellow
Professor Jean V. McHaleProfessor of Health Care Law
Dr Claire McIvorSenior Lecturer
Professor C. John MillerEmeritus Professor of Law
Dr Catherine MitchellReader in Private Law
Dr Lydia MorganTeaching Fellow
Professor Geoffrey MorseProfessor of Corporate and Tax Law
Dr Katharina MöserLecturer
Dr Walters NsohLecturer
Deputy Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Emma OakleyLecturer in Law
Dr Alexander OrakhelashviliSenior Lecturer
Dr Jenny PapettasTeaching Fellow
Rehana ParveenTeaching Fellow
Dr Simon PembertonBirmingham Fellow and Co-Head of Department of Social Policy & Social Work
Dr Olga PleshkovaTeaching Fellow
Professor Erika RackleyProfessor of Law
Dr Luca RubiniReader in International Economic Law
Samantha SchnobelTeaching Fellow
Dr Mohammad (Shahab) ShahabuddinSenior Lecturer in Law
Professor Elen StokesProfessorial Fellow in Energy and Environmental Law
Dr Viola TeubertLecturer in German Law
Linden ThomasSolicitor and CEPLER Manager
Dr Bosko TripkovicLecturer in Law
Professor Martin TrybusProfessor of European Law and Policy
Keith UffVisiting Lecturer in Residence
Dr Anastasia VakulenkoLecturer
Dr Steven VaughanSenior Lecturer
Director of Research (CEPLER)
Catherine VincentVisiting Lecturer
Piers von BergTeaching Fellow
Dr Marianne WadeReader
Dr Ben WarwickLecturer in Law
Professor Gordon WoodmanEmeritus Professor of Comparative Law
Professor Richard YoungProfessor of Law and Policy
Dr Hakeem O. YusufReader in Global Legal Studies
Dr Chen ZhuLecturer