Our languages

The Department of Modern Languages at the University of Birmingham is organised into six principal sections, teaching our five principal languages and cultures (French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish), and the further seven languages and cultures we offer as minor or additional subjects (Arabic, Catalan, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, Basque and Galician).

*Please note that Arabic is no longer available to incoming undergraduates as part of a Modern Languages programme. It can be studied as a supplementary subject for students on single honours French Studies, German Studies and Hispanic Studies programmes, via Open Access, and as a module on our MA in Translation Studies.