20th century

Academic staff

Dr Elisenda Marcer Cortés

Lecturer in Catalan Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4467

Email e.marcer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Daniele Albertazzi

Dr Daniele Albertazzi

Senior Lecturer in European Politics

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7503

Email d.albertazzi@bham.ac.uk

Professor Emeritus Jennifer Birkett

Emeritus Professor of French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5965

Email j.birkett@bham.ac.uk

Dr Clodagh Brook

Dr Clodagh Brook

Reader in Italian Cinema and Culture
Head of Department of Modern Languages

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7504

Email c.j.brook.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Michael Caesar

Professor Michael Caesar

Emeritus Professor of Italian Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5996

Email m.p.caesar@bham.ac.uk

Professor Martyn Cornick

Professor Martyn Cornick

Professor of French Cultural History

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5965

Email m.cornick@bham.ac.uk

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5969

Email b.l.y.damamme-gilbert@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Franco D'Intino

Director of the Leopardi Centre

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Email franco.dintino@uniroma1.it

Professor William John Dodd

Professor William John Dodd

Professor of Modern German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6185

Email w.j.dodd@bham.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Forcer

Dr Stephen Forcer

Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5985

Email s.m.forcer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Shelley Godsland

Dr Shelley Godsland

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
Head of Education, School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6041

Email s.godsland@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kate Ince

Dr Kate Ince

Reader in French Film and Gender Studies

Department of Art History, Film and Visual Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5972

Email k.l.ince@bham.ac.uk

Dr Monica Jato

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4088

Email m.jato@bham.ac.uk

Dr Angela Kershaw

Dr Angela Kershaw

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5974

Email a.kershaw@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Klapper

Professor John Klapper

Professor of Foreign Language Pedagogy

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6186

Email j.m.klapper@bham.ac.uk

Professor Francis Lough

Professor of Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6034

Email f.lough@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nicholas Martin

Dr Nicholas Martin

Director of the Institute for German Studies
Reader in European Intellectual History

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 46176

Email n.c.martin@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jeremy Morris

Dr Jeremy Morris

Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6455

Email j.b.morris@bham.ac.uk

Dr Patricia Odber de Baubeta

Dr Patricia Odber de Baubeta

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies and Director of the Cátedra Gil Vicente

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6031

Email p.a.odber-de-baubeta@bham.ac.uk

Dr Charlotte Ross

Dr Charlotte Ross

Senior Lecturer
Programme Lead for Italian Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7505

Email c.e.ross@bham.ac.uk

Dr Natalia Rulyova

Lecturer in Russian

Centre for Russian and East European Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6357

Email n.e.rulyova@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Sayner

Dr Joanne Sayner

Senior Lecturer in Cultural Theory and German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6177

Email j.sayner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Berny Sèbe

Dr Berny Sèbe

Lecturer in colonial and post-colonial studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6173

Email b.c.sebe@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ronald Speirs

Professor Ronald Speirs

Emeritus Professor of German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Email r.c.speirs@bham.ac.uk

Dr Emma Wagstaff

Dr Emma Wagstaff

Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5973

Email e.r.wagstaff@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Whittle, FHEA

Dr Ruth Whittle, FHEA

Senior Lecturer in German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5996

Email r.whittle@bham.ac.uk