Sexuality and Gender Studies

Research in the interdisciplinary field of Sexuality and Gender Studies at Birmingham is directed by the new Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality, Lisa Downing. Academic staff and postgraduate students engage in cutting-edge work in the areas of gender theory and feminism; LGBT and queer studies; and the critical history of medicine and sexual science (sexology, psychiatry). As well as publishing theoretical and empirical research in these fields, we engage with policy-making, activism and social justice work outside the academy.

Academic staff

Professor Lisa Downing

Professor Lisa Downing

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5981

Email l.m.downing@bham.ac.uk

Dr Shelley Godsland

Dr Shelley Godsland

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
Head of Education, School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6041

Email s.godsland@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kate Ince

Dr Kate Ince

Reader in French Film and Gender Studies

Department of Art History, Film and Visual Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5972

Email k.l.ince@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ita Mac Carthy

Dr Ita Mac Carthy

Senior Lecturer in Italian Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5933

Email i.maccarthy@bham.ac.uk

Dr Charlotte Ross

Dr Charlotte Ross

Senior Lecturer
Programme Lead for Italian Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7505

Email c.e.ross@bham.ac.uk

Dr Natalia Rulyova

Lecturer in Russian

Centre for Russian, European and Eurasian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6357

Email n.e.rulyova@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Sayner

Dr Joanne Sayner

Senior Lecturer in Cultural Theory and German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6177

Email j.sayner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Whittle

Dr Ruth Whittle

Senior Lecturer in German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5996

Email r.whittle@bham.ac.uk