German

Research by staff in German Studies covers a wide range of periods and themes, including: Medieval and Early Modern Literature and Culture; the German Intellectual Tradition; Literature and Culture 1730-1832; Literature and Culture 1870-1914; Literature and Culture in the Twentieth Century; Nietzsche in German and European culture; War and Culture; Literature, Culture and Exile in the National Socialist Period; The Politics of Remembering the Nazi Past; The GDR and its Legacy; German and European Film; Memory Studies; Women’s Writing; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Textual Editing; Translation Studies; Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, and Linguistic Criticism; Foreign Language Pedagogy.

Academic staff

Dr Hilary Brown

Dr Hilary Brown

Lecturer in Translation Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5930

Email h.j.brown.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor William John Dodd

Professor William John Dodd

Professor of Modern German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6185

Email w.j.dodd@bham.ac.uk

Dr Elystan Griffiths

Dr Elystan Griffiths

Senior Lecturer in German

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6178

Email e.griffiths@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nigel Harris

Dr Nigel Harris

Reader in German

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6183

Email n.w.harris@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Hill

Professor David Hill

Emeritus Professor of German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Email d.d.hill@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Klapper

Professor John Klapper

Professor of Foreign Language Pedagogy

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6186

Email j.m.klapper@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nicholas Martin

Dr Nicholas Martin

Director of the Institute for German Studies
Reader in European Intellectual History

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 46176

Email n.c.martin@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Sayner

Dr Joanne Sayner

Senior Lecturer in Cultural Theory and German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6177

Email j.sayner@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ronald Speirs

Professor Ronald Speirs

Emeritus Professor of German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Email r.c.speirs@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Whittle, FHEA

Dr Ruth Whittle, FHEA

Lecturer in German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5996

Email r.whittle@bham.ac.uk