Hispanic

Research activity in Hispanic Studies spans from Medieval to modern, and covers the history, literatures and cultures of Spain and its regions, in particular Catalonia, the Hispanic Caribbean and Spanish America, Portugal and Brazil, as well as the disciplines of Linguistics and Translation Studies.

We currently have two centres funded by external bodies. The Xunta de Galicia supports the Centro de Estudos Galegos to promote the teaching of Galician and provides small sums to support research activity in Galician Studies. Since 2005 the Portuguese Government has sponsored the Cátedra Gil Vicente, a research centre for Lusophone Studies within Hispanic Studies. The Centre funds conferences and training events organised or attended by academic staff, language instructors and postgraduate students. It also offers partial bursaries to fund postgraduate students.

In 2007, a Centre for the Study of Hispanic Exile was created as a focus for the research activities of a number of staff.

Other significant topics and themes researched and taught in Hispanic Studies include: Centre, Periphery & Borderland Narratives Crime Fiction Representation & Identity The Interface between History and Fiction Visual Culture in the Spanish-speaking World LIterature of the Spanish Civil War and Republican Exile.

Work in these areas involves all the major genres: narrative, poetry, painting, theatre and film.

Academic staff

Dr Elisenda Marcer Cortés

Lecturer in Catalan Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4467

Email e.marcer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Shelley Godsland

Dr Shelley Godsland

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
Head of Education, School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6041

Email s.godsland@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nick Griffiths

Dr Nick Griffiths

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone During Semester 1 +44 (0)121 414 3253/Outside Semester 1 44 (0)121 414 6035

Email n.e.g.griffiths@bham.ac.uk

Dr Conrad James

Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6037

Email c.m.james.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Monica Jato

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4088

Email m.jato@bham.ac.uk

Professor Francis Lough

Professor of Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6034

Email f.lough@bham.ac.uk

Dr Robert Oakley

Honorary Research Fellow in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 453 3345

Email r.j.oakley@bham.ac.uk

Dr Patricia Odber de Baubeta

Dr Patricia Odber de Baubeta

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies and Director of the Cátedra Gil Vicente

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6031

Email p.a.odber-de-baubeta@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lorraine Ryan

Dr Lorraine Ryan

Birmingham Fellow

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5933

Email l.ryan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Aengus Ward

Dr Aengus Ward

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7237

Email a.m.m.ward@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jules Whicker

Dr Jules Whicker

Lecturer

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6033

Email j.whicker@bham.ac.uk