Memory Studies 

Researchers within the Department of Modern Languages bring geographical and disciplinary specialisms to their work within the wider context of interdisciplinary memory studies. Particular strengths lie in the investigation of memories of war, dictatorship, 'inner emigration', exile, and postcolonialism. Scholars working in this area have had particular success in recovering previously unknown works, historical sites, and marginalised voices. A significant element of this research has been promoting knowledge exchange between academia, practitioners and diverse memory communities, while contributing to processes of commemoration, memorialisation and reconciliation.

Memory studies experts in the Department of Modern Languages also belong to the Birmingham Memory Group. This brings together staff, postgraduates and postdoctoral researchers from across the University, including colleagues working in literature, history, holocaust studies, postcolonial studies, gender studies, political science, psychology, geography, sports science, film, art history, philosophy, theology and archaeology. It provides a forum for all those interested in working collaboratively on interdisciplinary approaches to memory, as well as for showcasing the diversity and significance of memory studies research at the University and beyond.

Academic staff

Dr Elisenda Marcer Cortés

Lecturer in Catalan Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4467

Email e.marcer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5969

Email b.l.y.damamme-gilbert@bham.ac.uk

Professor William John Dodd

Professor William John Dodd

Professor of Modern German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6185

Email w.j.dodd@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kate Ince

Dr Kate Ince

Reader in French Film and Gender Studies

Department of Art History, Film and Visual Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5972

Email k.l.ince@bham.ac.uk

Dr Monica Jato

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4088

Email m.jato@bham.ac.uk

Dr Angela Kershaw

Dr Angela Kershaw

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5974

Email a.kershaw@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Klapper

Professor John Klapper

Professor of Foreign Language Pedagogy

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6186

Email j.m.klapper@bham.ac.uk

Professor Francis Lough

Professor of Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6034

Email f.lough@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lorraine Ryan

Dr Lorraine Ryan

Birmingham Fellow

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5933

Email l.ryan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Sayner

Dr Joanne Sayner

Senior Lecturer in Cultural Theory and German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6177

Email j.sayner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Berny Sèbe

Dr Berny Sèbe

Lecturer in colonial and post-colonial studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6173

Email b.c.sebe@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Whittle

Dr Ruth Whittle

Senior Lecturer in German Studies

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3218

Email r.whittle@bham.ac.uk