People 

Head of School

Professor Paul Flavell

Professor Paul Flavell

Head of School
Professor of Algebra

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3740

Email p.j.flavell@bham.ac.uk

Academic staff

Professor Jonathan Bennett

Professor Jonathan Bennett

Professor of Mathematical Analysis

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6579

Email j.bennett@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alex Bespalov

Dr Alex Bespalov

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6582

Email a.bespalov@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Butkovic

Professor Peter Butkovic

Professor of Applied Discrete Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6600

Email p.butkovic@bham.ac.uk

Dr José Alfredo Cañizo

Dr José Alfredo Cañizo

Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6586

Email j.canizorincon@bham.ac.uk

Dr David Craven

Dr David Craven

Senior Birmingham Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3945

Email d.a.craven@bham.ac.uk

Dr Rosemary Dyson

Dr Rosemary Dyson

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3415

Email r.j.dyson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Chris Good

Dr Chris Good

Reader in Pure Mathematics
Director of Education

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6201

Email c.good@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Kaye

Dr Richard Kaye

Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
School Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3359

Email r.w.kaye@bham.ac.uk

Professor Michal Kočvara

Professor Michal Kočvara

Professor in Mathematical Optimization
Head of Optimization and Statistics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6598

Email m.kocvara@bham.ac.uk

Professor Daniela Kühn

Professor Daniela Kühn

Professor in Mathematics (Mason Chair)

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6601

Email d.kuhn@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Andrew Leach

Professor John Andrew Leach

Professor of Applied Mathematics
Head of Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6200

Email j.a.leach@bham.ac.uk

Dr Hui Li

Dr Hui Li

Lecturer in Statistics and Econometrics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3741

Email h.li.4@bham.ac.uk

Dr Allan Lo

Birmingham Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 2914

Email s.a.lo@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kay Magaard

Dr Kay Magaard

Reader in Algebra

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6195

Email k.magaard@bham.ac.uk

Dr Olga Maleva

Dr Olga Maleva

Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6584

Email o.maleva@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alessio Martini

Dr Alessio Martini

Lecturer in Mathematical Analysis

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6191

Email a.martini@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Mycroft

Dr Richard Mycroft

Lecturer in Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6590

Email r.mycroft@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Needham

Professor David Needham

Professor of Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6593

Email d.j.needham@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sándor Zoltán Németh

Dr Sándor Zoltán Németh

Lecturer
Director of 3rd year BSc

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6404

Email s.nemeth@bham.ac.uk

Dr Rachel Nicks

Dr Rachel Nicks

Lecturer in Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 2619

Email r.nicks@bham.ac.uk

Professor Deryk Osthus

Professor Deryk Osthus

Professor in Graph Theory

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6190

Email d.osthus@bham.ac.uk

Professor Chris Parker

Professor Chris Parker

Professor of Pure Mathematics
Director of The Graduate School

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6199

Email c.w.parker@bham.ac.uk

Dr Natalia Petrovskaya

Dr Natalia Petrovskaya

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6591

Email n.b.petrovskaya@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard David Riley

Dr Richard David Riley

Reader in Biostatistics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7508

Email r.d.riley@bham.ac.uk

Professor Sergey Shpectorov

Professor Sergey Shpectorov

Professor of Pure Mathematics
Head of Pure Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6604

Email s.shpectorov@bham.ac.uk

Dr David Smith

Dr David Smith

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics & Birmingham Science City Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7374

Email d.j.smith.2@bham.ac.uk

Dr Warren R. Smith

Dr Warren R. Smith

Director Graduate School
Lecturer

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6192

Email w.smith@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alexandra Tzella

Dr Alexandra Tzella

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6597

Email a.tzella@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jamal Uddin

Dr Jamal Uddin

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6578

Email j.uddin@bham.ac.uk

Dr Yunbin Zhao

Dr Yunbin Zhao

Senior Lecturer in Mathematical Optimization

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7092

Email y.zhao.2@bham.ac.uk