Academic staff in the School of Psychology 

Head of School

Professor Kim Shapiro

Professor Kim Shapiro

Professor and Chair of Cognitive Neuroscience
Head of School

School of Psychology

Professor Shapiro in collaboration with other colleagues published the first paper on the ‘attentional blink’ phenomenon, which has attracted great interest on the part of many scientists. The original publication has been cited over 1000 times and approximately 500 reports on the same topic have followed from it. He employs a wide range of neuroscience approaches and tools in his ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4930

Email k.l.shapiro@bham.ac.uk

Academic staff

Dr Jane Waite

Dr Jane Waite

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

School of Psychology

Jane Waite is a research fellow at the University of Birmingham and is based at The Cerebra Centre for Neurodevelopmental Disorders.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7206

Email j.e.waite@bham.ac.uk

Dr Linda Wheeldon

Dr Linda Wheeldon

Reader in Psycholinguistics

School of Psychology


Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7048

Email l.r.wheeldon@bham.ac.uk

Thomas White

Thomas White

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

School of Psychology

Dr Tom White aims to quantify the effects of attention and vigilance on multisensory processing using EEG/fMRI. Combining multimodal neuroimaging data is central to this work; and his previous investigations of healthy brain function and its disturbance in schizophrenia.

Email t.white@bham.ac.uk

Dr Maria Wimber

Dr Maria Wimber

Lecturer

School of Psychology

Dr Maria Wimber is a cognitive neuroscientist interested in human long-term memory. How can the brain retrieve a single past experience, given the huge amount of similar, overlapping events stored in memory? And why do some experiences transform into stable memories while others are forgotten? Maria uses a combination of imaging (fMRI, EEG/MEG) and behavioural methods with the aim to understand ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4659

Email m.wimber@bham.ac.uk

Professor Alan Wing

Professor Alan Wing

Professor of Human Movement

School of Psychology


Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7954

Email a.m.wing@bham.ac.uk

Mr Jonathan Winter

Research Support

School of Psychology

Technical Support for the PRISM Lab, and free help/advice to other members of the School. My main webpage can be found here: http://prism.bham.ac.uk/~jlw

 

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2868

Email j.winter@bham.ac.uk

Dr Amanda Wood

Dr Amanda Wood

Senior Lecturer

School of Psychology

Telephone +44 0121 414 3338

Email a.g.wood@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stephen Wood

Professor Stephen Wood

Professor of Adolescent Brain Development and Mental Health

School of Psychology

My research aims to understand the health paradox of adolescence - the years between 12 and 25 are a time of great physical fitness, yet this is the period during which 75% of all mental disorders have their onset. Why should this be the case? Clearly changes in the brain are likely culprits, but how they interact with genetic and environmental factors to produce illness is unclear.

...

Telephone 0121 4144917

Email s.j.wood@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kate Woodcock

Dr Kate Woodcock

Research Fellow

School of Psychology

I am interested in investigating the relationships between the brain, cognition and behaviour.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3861

Email k.a.woodcock@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jessica Woodhams

Dr Jessica Woodhams

Senior Lecturer in Forensic Psychology

School of Psychology

Jessica is a chartered psychologist and an HCPC registered forensic psychologist. Her primary areas of research are policing and sexual offending. She is the founder of the international academic-practitioner C-LINK network (Crime Linkage International NetworK, www.crimelinkage.org).

Telephone (0)121 414 6937

Email j.woodhams@bham.ac.uk

Dr Rachel Wright

Research Fellow

School of Psychology

Rachel Wright is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow working in the Sensory Motor Neuroscience research group. Her work involves motion capture to analyse aspects of human movement and balance control.  Her current research is funded by The Stroke Association and investigates auditory cueing in walking and stepping.

Email r.wright.1@bham.ac.uk