IASS Academic staff

Professor Pete Alcock

Professor Pete Alcock

Professor of Social Policy and Administration and Director of the ESRC Doctoral Training Centre

Pete is Professor of Social Policy and Administration and Director of the University of Birmingham's ESRC Doctoral Training Centre.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3171

Email p.c.alcock@bham.ac.uk

Dr Chris Allen

Dr Chris Allen

Lecturer in Social Policy

Dr Chris Allen is a Lecturer in Social Policy. He is based in the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy at the University of Birmingham where he is the Acting Director of Undergraduate Social Policy Programmes and Programme Lead on the Policy, Politics & Economics (PPE) programme.

Follow Chris on Facebook.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2703

Email c.allen.2@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lindsey Appleyard

Dr Lindsey Appleyard

Research Fellow for CHASM (Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management)

Dr Lindsey Appleyard is a Research Fellow at the Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) in the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 1063

Email l.j.appleyard@bham.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Bennett

Dr Matthew Bennett

Lecturer in Social Policy

Matthew is a lecturer in Social Policy in the Institute of Applied Social Studies. He is the Programme Coordinator for the MA in Social Research (Social Policy) and is also a researcher in the Third Sector Research Centre.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 6710

Email m.r.bennett@bham.ac.uk

Ric Bowl

Ric Bowl

Director of Community Mental Health Programmes

Ric is the Director of Community Mental Health Programmes at the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 6688

Email r.e.e.bowl@bham.ac.uk

Dr Edward Brunsdon

Dr Edward Brunsdon

Dr Edward Brunsdon is an Honorary Research Fellow in the School of Social Policy and an Associate Member of the Centre for Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) in the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy.

Email e.brundson@bham.ac.uk

Mark Chesterman

Director of Post Qualifying Programmes

Mark Chesterman is Director of PQ Programmes and leads the PQ children and families programme.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5731

Email m.chesterman@bham.ac.uk

Dr Harriet Clarke

Dr Harriet Clarke

Director of Doctoral Research, Senior Lecturer, Social Policy and Social Research

Harriet is Director of Doctoral Research in the School of Social Policy and lectures in social research and social policy.  She provides support to postgraduate taught students on research ethics and supervises taught course dissertations and doctoral research.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8479

Email h.clarke@bham.ac.uk

Stuart Connor

Stuart Connor

Lecturer in Social Policy

Stuart Connor is a lecturer in Social Policy.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8031

Email s.a.connor@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tarsem Singh Cooner

Dr Tarsem Singh Cooner

Associate Director, Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Mental Health (CEIMH) and Lecturer in Social Work

Tarsem is a Social Work Lecturer and Associate Director at the Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Mental Health (CEIMH).  In 2011 Tarsem was awarded a Birmingham University Teaching Fellowship in recognition of his wide ranging and significant interventions in learning and teaching across the institution. In his work across the institution he serves on the Board of the Valuing ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 8184

Email t.s.cooner@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ann Davis

Professor Ann Davis

Emeritus Professor of Social Work and Mental Health

Ann is Emeritus Professor of Social Work and Mental Health and Director of the Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Mental Health (CEIMH) from 2005-2010.

Email a.davis@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Doling

Professor John Doling

Emeritus Professor of Housing Studies

John is an Emeritus Professor of Housing Studies in the School of Social Policy, Institute of Applied Social Studies.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5710

Email j.f.doling@bham.ac.uk

Kathryn Farrow

Kathryn Farrow

Lecturer in Applied Social Studies

Kathryn Farrow is programme director for the MA in Advanced Practice (Leadership and Management in Social Work/Social Care). She has responsibility for running the Leadership and Management Seminar Series provided as part of the University of Birmingham's Public Service Academy.

Kathryn is a qualified and HCPC registered social worker and provides practice tutoring and ...

Telephone + 44(0)121 415 8029

Email k.farrow@bham.ac.uk

Professor Barbara Fawcett

Professor Barbara Fawcett

Professor of Social Work (Adults and Communities)

Barbara carries out research in the areas of adults, communities, mental health, older people and disability. She also focuses on participatory action research and forms of analysis drawn from postmodern feminism.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5730

Email b.fawcett@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joy Fillingham

Dr Joy Fillingham

Service User and Carer Co-ordinator / Teaching Fellow

Joy joined the School of Social Policy as the Service User and Carer Co-ordinator within the Social Work Programmes in October 2007.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 6271

Email j.fillingham@bham.ac.uk

Matthew Gibson

PQ Teaching Fellow

Matthew is a registered social worker and teaches on the post qualifying social work programmes specialising in social work with children and families. He has 10 years of experience as a practitioner and has a research interest in professional practice and emotions.

Twitter: @PQBham

Facebook: www.facebook.com/PQBham

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8028

Email m.j.gibson.1@bham.ac.uk

Anne-Marie Glover

Anne-Marie Glover

Lecturer and Admissions Tutor, Social Work Programme

Anne-Marie is a Lecturer and Admissions Tutor on the Social Work Programme, within the Institute of Applied Social Studies. She is a qualified and HCPC registered Social Worker, and has worked in a range of statutory Children & Families settings. Her practice and research interests include children and young people involved in the youth justice system, specifically children in custodial ...

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8032

Email a.t.glover@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Goodson

Dr Lisa Goodson

Lecturer

Lisa Goodson is a lecturer in IASS, School of Social Policy, where she is Director of Undergraduate Social Policy Programmes, directs the postgraduate degree programme in Migration, Superdiversity and Policy and co-ordinates social policy research modules at post graduate level as well as teaching and tutoring on undergraduate modules in new migration. Lisa has been at the forefront of ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4993

Email l.j.goodson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Lee Gregory

Dr Lee Gregory

Lecturer in Social Policy

Lee joined the IASS in September 2013 as a Lecturer in Social Policy. His principal research interests lie in the connections between community, poverty and health, specifically the role of welfare provision in perpetuating and challenging current levels of poverty and ill-health. His most recent research investigates the possibilities of complementary currencies in forming social ...

Telephone +44(0)121 4145715

Email l.j.gregory@bham.ac.uk

Surinder Guru

Surinder Guru

Lecturer in Social Work

Surinder Guru is a Lecturer on the Social Work course at the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8481

Email s.guru@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kelly Hall

Dr Kelly Hall

Lecturer in Social Policy

Kelly is a Lecturer in Social Policy based in the Institute of Applied Social Studies. She is the co-ordinator for the Postgraduate Policy into Practice programme. Her main research interests include social enterprise in health and social care and retirement migration.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8027

Email k.j.hall@bham.ac.uk

Tina Hearn

Lecturer in Social Policy and Admissions Tutor

Tina is a Lecturer and Admissions Tutor for the undergraduate social policy degree programmes.  She has a particular commitment to the University's widening participation programmes and facilitating the inclusion of a diverse range of students within higher education, through a range of Outreach activities.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 2505

Email t.hearn@bham.ac.uk

Rachel Hek

Rachel Hek

Lecturer and Placement Manager

Rachel Hek is a lecturer on the Social Work team at the University of Birmingham and also Head of Qualifying Practice Learning for the MA and BA Social Work courses.  She also manages a bank of independent Practice Tutors and Practice Educators.  Rachel is responsible for creating new practice learning opportunities for students and for liaising with, recruiting and training Practice ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 2935

Email r.hek@bham.ac.uk

Gary Hickman

Gary Hickman

Senior Lecturer and Director of Social Work Education

Gary Hickman is a registered social worker and as Director of the social work programmes, provides operational and strategic leadership for both the BA and MA courses.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 2284

Email g.j.hickman@bham.ac.uk

Clare Hill

Clare Hill

Teaching Fellow

Clare is the Crime, Policing and Community Justice pathway lead, and convenes the Policing, Security and Community Justice module (2nd year BA Social Policy). She is academic tutor for a number of first year students and provides dissertation supervision for students in their final year of study. Clare is also the ‘Student Enhancement Officer’ for the School of Social Policy. As such, ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 45717

Email c.j.hill@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nathan Hughes

Dr Nathan Hughes

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Social Work / Marie Curie Research Fellow, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Melbourne

Nathan is Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Social Work at the School of Social Policy, and Marie Curie Research Fellow at the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia. He is currently undertaking a programme of research examining the applications of neuroscience to social policy and the law.

Email n.j.hughes@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ricky Joseph

Dr Ricky Joseph

Research Fellow

Ricky Joseph is a Research Fellow at the Centre for Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) in the Institute of Applied Social Studies. He is also academic lead for the Doctoral Research Diversity Network (DRDN).

Telephone +44(0)121 414 7233

Email r.joseph@bham.ac.uk

Rosemary Littlechild

Rosemary Littlechild

Senior Lecturer

Rosemary is part of the teaching group on the qualifying social work programmes for the BA and MA in Social Work. She is a qualified social worker and has worked in generic and specialist teams for older people in the statutory sector. Rosemary has a particular interest in service user and carer involvement in social work education and has strategic responsibility for their involvement in the ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5728

Email r.j.littlechild@bham.ac.uk

Dr Margaret May

Dr Margaret May

Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Margaret May is an Honorary Research Fellow in the School of Social Policy and an Associate Member of the Centre for Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) in the Institute of Applied Social Studies, School of Social Policy.

Email margaret.may@bham.ac.uk

Angus McCabe

Angus McCabe

Senior Research Fellow

Angus is a Senior Research Fellow in the School of Social Policy, University of Birmingham.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5732

Email a.j.mccabe@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Mullins

Professor David Mullins

Professor of Housing Policy

David Mullins is Professor of Housing Policy and leads the Housing and Communities Research Group in IASS. He also has links with the Third Sector Research Centre (TSRC) and the Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) in the School of Social Policy. His research interests include the governance, management and regulation of housing, housing need and homelessness, the ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 3348

Email d.w.mullins@bham.ac.uk

Robert Page

Reader in Democratic Socialism and Social Policy

Robert is a Reader in Democratic Socialism and Social Policy at the Institute of Applied Social Studies and has been a teacher of Social Policy for over thirty years. 

Telephone +44(0)121 414 8088

Email r.m.page@bham.ac.uk

Dr Simon Pemberton

Dr Simon Pemberton

Birmingham Fellow

Simon is a Birmingham Fellow currently researching aspects of social harm caused by states and corporations, as well as social structures, in particular the harms caused by inequality.

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8025

Email s.pemberton.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Jenny Phillimore

Professor Jenny Phillimore

Professor of Migration and Superdiversity

Jenny Phillimore has researched widely in the fields of migration and superdiversity. Over the past decade she has managed teams of researchers focusing on access to health, education, employment, training, and housing integration with a particular focus on integration and organisational change in the UK and EU. Jenny co-directs the New Migration and Social Policy MA programme, sits on the ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 7822

Email j.a.phillimore@bham.ac.uk

Dawn River

Dawn River

Social Work Lecturer and MA Programme Director

Dawn is a Social Work Lecturer and MA Programme Director, Institute of Applied Social Studies.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 2936

Email d.h.river@bham.ac.uk

Professor Richard Ronald

Professor Richard Ronald

Professor of Housing and Social Change

Richard joined the University of Birmingham in 2013 and contributes to teaching in Social Policy (particularly in the area of comparative policy and research) as well as to research activities in the Centre for Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM) and Housing and Communities Research. He also studied and worked in the Netherlands, Japan and the USA, and continues to hold a ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 8564

Email r.ronald@bham.ac.uk

Professor Karen Rowlingson

Professor Karen Rowlingson

Professor of Social Policy

Karen is a Professor of Social Policy in the Institute of Applied Social Studies as well as being Director of the Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM).

Telephone +44(0)121 415 8565

Email k.rowlingson@bham.ac.uk

Maureen Smojkis

Maureen Smojkis

Associate Director, Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Mental Health

Maureen is an Associate Director for the Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Mental Health (CEIMH) and is also Welfare Tutor for the Social Work and Post-qualifying programmes at the Institute of Applied Social Studies.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 8169

Email m.n.smojkis@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Stephenson

Professor David Stephenson

Head of School of Social Policy and Head of Institute of Applied Social Studies

David Stephenson is Head of the School of Social Policy and Head of the Institute of Applied Social Studies.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5727

Email d.o.stephenson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Denise Tanner

Dr Denise Tanner

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Denise Tanner is a Senior Lecturer on BA and MA Social Work courses.  Her areas of teaching and research interest include community care policy and practice; social work with older people; social work skills; social perspectives of mental distress; and service user involvement in education and research. She is Programme Director for BA Social Work course and has responsibility for ...

Telephone +44(0)121 414 2941

Email d.l.tanner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jerry Tew

Dr Jerry Tew

Reader in Mental Health and Social Work and Head of Education

Jerry is a Reader in Mental Health and Social Work and Head of Education in the School of Social Policy, Institute of Applied Social Studies.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 3640

Email j.j.c.tew@bham.ac.uk

Sue Wainwright

Sue Wainwright

Lecturer in Social Work

Sue has practice interests in housing debt, social security and anti-poverty measures.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 4981

Email s.wainwright@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nicki Ward

Dr Nicki Ward

Lecturer

Nicki is a Lecturer at the School of Social Policy, Institute of Applied Social Studies.  Her role now, as a social work lecturer, enables her to combine her interests in social work, social care and social justice.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5713

Email n.j.ward@bham.ac.uk

Professor Sue White

Professor Sue White

Professor of Social Work (Children and Families)

Sue is Professor of Social Work for Children and Families in the School of Social Policy, Institute of Applied Social Studies. She is also an Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5714

Email s.white.3@bham.ac.uk