Health and social wellbeing

Health and Social Wellbeing is one of a series of broad research themes that underpin the research activities of the School of Social Policy.

Health and social wellbeing

Key research:

 

Research projects

Who knows best? Older people's contribution to understanding and preventing avoidable hospital admissions (2014-2016)

Overall, the study will include: 1. A review of the literature on the appropriateness of emergency admissions, identifying the rate and cause of potentially avoidable admissions and any potential solutions proposed; 2. Interviews to identify clinical and managerial views on actions being taken locally to reduce the number of admissions; 3. Detailed insights into the cause and experience of admission from older people and their carers; 4. Additional information from a lead medic; 5. A focus group in each site which will comment on vignettes derived from the interviews with older people. 

Chronic disease and integrated care (2014-2019)

This theme builds on the work of the pilot CLAHRC which evaluated improvements in care for a number of individual long-term conditions, including stroke, diabetes and kidney disease. There are two priorities: 1. To evaluate new ways of delivering integrated care to people with multiple long-term conditions; 2. To evaluate new ways of improving patient wellbeing.

Our research

View all research in the Institute of Applied Social Studies (IASS)

View all research at the Health Services Management Centre (HSMC) 

Key staff

Hilary BrownHilary Brown
Fellow, Health Services Management Centre

Email: h.i.brown@bham.ac.uk

 

Deborah DavidsonDeborah Davidson
Senior Fellow, Health Services Management Centre

Email: d.c.davidson@bham.ac.uk

 

Professor Jon GlasbyJon Glasby
Director, Health Services Management Centre

Email: j.glasby@bham.ac.uk

 

Professor Russell MannionRussell Mannion
Professor of Health Systems, Health Services Management Centre

Email: r.mannion@bham.ac.uk

 

Martin PowellMartin Powell
Professor of Health and Social Policy

Email: m.powell@bham.ac.uk

 

Iain SnellingIain Snelling
Director of Teaching and Learning, Health Services Management Centre

Email: i.n.snelling@bham.ac.uk

 

Iestyn WilliamsIestyn Williams
Senior Lecturer, Health Services Management Centre

Email: i.p.williams@bham.ac.uk