Welfare futures

Welfare Futures is one of the broad research themes that underpin the research activities of the School of Social Policy.

Key research

 

Research projects

After the Taskforce: Monitoring financial inclusion (2012-2017)

The aim of this project is to monitor financial inclusion over the next 5 years.

Responsibilities, ethics and the financial crisis (2012-2015)

This project will explore the impact of the global financial crisis on the way that the risks of consumer lending, including mortgage lending, were spread, notably through a market in securitized debt; overconfidence in the strength of house prices; and conflicts of interest among institutional lenders and those responsible for analysing credit risks.

Our research

View research projects in the Department of Social Policy and Social Work (SPSW)

View research projects at the Health Services Management Centre (HSMC)

 

Key staff:

Pete AlcockPete Alcock
Professor of Social Policy and Administration and Director of the ESRC Doctoral Training Centre, School of Social Policy

Email: p.c.alcock@bham.ac.uk

 

Lindsey AppleyardLindsey Appleyard
Research Fellow, Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM)

Email: l.j.appleyard@bham.ac.uk

 

Harriet ClarkeHarriet Clarke
Department of Social Policy and Social Work

Email: h.clarke@bham.ac.uk

 

Lee GregoryLee Gregory
Lecturer in Social Policy, Department of Social Policy and Social Work

Email: l.j.gregory@bham.ac.uk

 

Ricky JosephRicky Joseph
Research Fellow, Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM)

Email: r.joseph@bham.ac.uk

 

David MullinsDavid Mullins
Professor of Housing Policy, School of Social Policy

Email: d.w.mullins@bham.ac.uk

 

Richard Ronald, Professor of Housing and Social ChangeRichard Ronald
Professor of Housing and Social Change, Department of Social Policy and Social Work

Email: r.ronald@bham.ac.uk

 

Karen RowlingsonKaren Rowlingson
Professor of Social Policy and Director of the Centre on Household Assets and Savings Management (CHASM)

Email: k.rowlingson@bham.ac.uk