Professor Jane McKeating B.Sc. PhD


Professor of Molecular Virology
Deputy Head of School

School of Immunity and Infection


Contact details

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8173

Fax +44 (0)121 414 3599


School of Immunity and Infection
College of Medical and Dental Sciences
Medical School Building
University of Birmingham
B15 2TT


Jane McKeating is the Professor of Molecular Virology and Deputy Head of the School of Immunity and Infection.

She set up the HCV group at the Medical School in January 2005. The group occupies 3 adjoining labs on the 5th floor of the IBR, 2 cat 3 labs and have shared access to all of the facilities in the MRC Centre for Immune Regulation. The group is involved in a wide range of local and international collaborative studies.


  • PhD 1987
  • BSc (Hons) 1982



Postgraduate supervision

The HCV group is actively involved in the supervision and mentoring of doctoral research (Ph.D.) students in the all areas of clinically relevant HCV disease.

If you are interesting in studying in this area please contact us using the contact details above, or for more general doctoral research enquiries, please email: or call +44 (0)121 414 5005.

For a full list of available Doctoral Research opportunities, please visit our Doctoral Research programme listings


Viral hepatitis, virus entry and viral Oncology

Our research focuses on understanding the mechanism of hepatitis C virus (HCV) entry into the liver and how the virus persists to evade the innate and adaptive immune responses. Development of multi-cellular systems comprising hepatocytes and non-parenchymal liver cells have enabled us to uncover new pathways that regulate viral replication. We are exploring the impact of viral and bacterial co-infection on HCV pathogenesis and the role persistent HCV replication plays in the development of hepatocellular carcinoma.

Other activities

Awards and Distinctions:

Herpes Vaccine Research Trust Prize, Society of General Microbiology - 1988.

Medical Research Council Senior AIDS Research Fellowship -1990

Research Fellowship of the Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine - 1994

Fleming Award, Society of General Microbiology - 1995.
Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award 2006

Australian ACH2 Inivited Lecture 2009

Oxford University Distinguished Virology Lecture 2010

Dutch Society of Hepatology Distinguished Lecture – 2011

Membership of committees & boards:

NIH special study section on Virology

Veterans Administration Merit Review Subcommittee.

Editorial boards for Virology, Virology Journal, PLos One, Hepatology

Scientific Advisory Boards for University of Essen, Astex Pharmaceuticals and Arrow Pharmaceuticals


Back to top