The Senate

Senate is the principal academic body of the University, responsible to Council for: the overall academic policies of the University; regulating the academic work of the University in admissions, teaching, assessment and research for academic awards of the University (including Honorary Degrees); for the control and regulation of the conduct, discipline and academic progress of the Registered Students of the University.

The Senate is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. It meets four times a year and consists of up to 60 members, including:

  • Aston Webb buildingThe Vice-Chancellor, the Provost and Vice-Principal (ex officio)
  • Pro-Vice Chancellors thematic (ex officio)
  • Pro-Vice Chancellors and Heads of College (ex officio)
  • The College Directors of Education and of Research and of Knowledge Transfer (ex officio)
  • One other member nominated by each Head of College from the College Board
  • Four academic staff members elected from each College
  • The Vice-President of the Guild of Students (Education and Access) and five other student members
  • Up to four other members who may be co-opted

The following sub-committees report to Senate:

Meetings and minutes

Senate currently has four business meetings during each academic year.

Senate meetings during 2013/2014 are as follows : 

25 September 2013 (if required)
13 November 2013
19 March 2014
11 June 2014
The Secretary should be notified in writing of items of business for the Council at least fourteen days in advance of the meeting.