Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee receives nominations for Honorary Degrees and the Vice-Chancellor's Medal and makes confidential recommendations to Senate regarding the award of such distinctions.



Term of Office
(to 31 July)

Vice Chancellor and Principal (Chair)

Professor Sir David Eastwood

Ex officio

Provost and Vice Principal (Deputy Chair)

Professor Adam Tickell

Ex officio

Registrar and Secretary

Mr Lee Sanders

Ex officio

Director of External Relations

Ms Cathy Gilbert

Ex officio

Director of Development and Alumni Relations

Mr Simon Lerwill

Ex officio 

Two Heads of College

Professor David Adams
Professor Michael Whitby


Four members elected by the Senate

Professor Kathy Armour 
Professor Jon Glasby
Professor Corey Ross 
Professor Jon Rowe


One Lay Member of Council

Mr Ed Smith


Two Public Orator

Professor Russell Jackson

Professor Kate Thomas



President of the Guild of Students

Mr Jack Mably

Ex officio


Mr Chris Campbell-Kelly


Terms of Reference

The Committee receives nominations for Honorary Degrees and the Vice-Chancellor’s Medal from students, alumni, employees, honorary staff or lay members of the Court or Council of the University and makes confidential recommendations regarding the award of such distinctions.

Criteria for the Award of Honorary Degrees:

  • Honorary Graduands are individuals who are particularly eminent in their field and whose work is of high international, national, or regional significance as appropriate.
  • Nominees normally have links with, or have made a contribution to, the University, the City of Birmingham, or the West Midlands. This is, however, not an essential requirement. For example, academics of exceptional distinction in fields where the University of Birmingham is distinguished may be considered.
  • There should be clear potential for a continuing or future relationship between the nominee and the University.
  • To avoid possible misconceptions, the University does not normally consider nominees who are currently serving politicians or persons who have direct or significant influence over funding bodies.
  • The University does not normally consider conferring a second honorary degree on the same individual.
  • Serving or retired members of staff (including those holding honorary staff titles) are not normally considered for an award simply on the basis of their service to the University, but may be considered on grounds of exceptional service at a regional, national, or international level.

Dates of Meetings 

The 2015-16 meeting dates are:

  • Tuesday 13 October 2015
  • Tuesday 23 February 2016
  • Wednesday 4 May 2016

Contact Details

Chris Campbell-Kelly
Secretary to the Nominations Committee
Registrar & Secretary’s Office
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 8111