Careers Network

Careers Network is continuously enhancing its range and quality of service in order to help our students identify and achieve their individual career aspirations, have access to great work experience and employment opportunities, enhance vital personal and professional skills and to develop an enterprising approach to their career management.

Careers Network offers a range of services to our students and alumni including a dedicated careers advice and guidance service delivered by experienced and professionally qualified College careers consultants and advisers. We have also developed 24/7 careers information provision via the careers website and provide advice and support to students considering self-employment through our Entrepreneurship and Innovation Centre.

Each year, our dedicated Employer Relations Team organises over 300 employer presentations on campus. In addition, our team also run several subject-specific and generic graduate recruitment fairs and events. Our Work Experience staff also develop generic and subject-specific work experience opportunities, greatly enhancing student skill development and employability.

The University’s Personal Skills Award (PSA) is also part of Careers Network. This programme enables students to undertake additional training and development alongside their courses, producing excellent supporting evidence for career management and job applications, whilst also receiving a formal recognition via the PSA award itself.

Key people

Director of Student Employability
Eluned Jones
Email – e.g.jones@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 6121

Deputy Director (Guidance and Information Services)
Sophie Miller
Email – s.a.miller@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 6130

Assistant Director (Entrepreneurship and Innovation)
Alison Sharp
Email – ei@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 8290

Assistant Director (Work Experience)
Sue Welland
Email – s.e.welland@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 8180

Assistant Director (Employer Relations)
Jane Griffin
Email – j.m.griffin@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 6122

PSA Programme Manager
Sarah Jeffries-Watts
Email – s.jeffries-watts@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 8639

Operations Manager
Dee Drapkin
Email – d.drapkin@bham.ac.uk
Telephone – +44 (0)121 414 3854

Development and Quality Enhancement Consultant
Joan Cartledge
Email – j.m.cartledge@bham.ac.uk  
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 4051