Student Recruitment and Outreach

Responsible for the recruitment of students located within the UK, European Union and internationally, the office comprises three teams focussing on different types of study: Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Doctoral Researcher, and Outreach.

The Undergraduate team is also responsible for the University’s Undergraduate Open Days in June and September of each year.

The International Recruitment team leads and advises on international student recruitment strategy, provides advice and support to international students wishing to study in the UK, and manages our overseas agent network and relationships with key international sponsors.

The Postgraduate Team recruits applicants onto Postgraduate Taught programmes and supports students wishing to apply for a PhD. The Outreach team also operate the University’s acclaimed Access to Birmingham (A2B) scheme which works with applicants who have faced some form of challenge in their life or academic study, supporting them through the process of applying to the University.

General Enquiries

Student Recruitment
Email - schools-liaison@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3374

Outreach
Email: outreach@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 6722

Key people

Director of Recruitment
Dr Alaric Rae 
Email - a.c.rae@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 2221

PA to the Director
Position vacant

Head of Postgraduate Recruitment
Stephen Allmark
Email - s.j.allmark@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 5430

Head of Outreach
Gail Rothnie
Email - g.h.rothnie@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 415 8545

Head of UK and EU Undergraduate Recruitment (job share)
Yvonne Williams (days) Monday - Wednesday
Email - y.e.williams@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3697

Elizabeth Chandler (days) Wednesday - Friday 
Email - e.chandler@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3697