Operations

HR Operations is responsible for the delivery of three interdependent elements of service to the University:  

  • Delivery and/or co-ordination of HR processes that underpin the employment of all staff in the University from recruitment to retirement
  • Provision of advice and guidance to the University on employment matters
  • Supporting the University in the delivery of change and the achievement of its strategic plans.

The effective delivery of this service is achieved through the business partner model where teams of HR professionals are located within each college and corporate services to offer tailored support and guidance to colleagues.

Key people

Assistant Director of HR (Operations)
Declan Vaughan
Email - d.vaughan@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 2686

College Head of HR, College of Arts and Law
Zoe Oakes
Email – z.e.k.oakes@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3848

College Head of HR, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences 
Lora Morris 
Email - l.c.morris@bham.ac.uk  
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 5003

College Head of HR, College of Life and Environmental Sciences
Deb Bayliss
Email - d.bayliss@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3699

College Head of HR, College of Medical and Dental Sciences
Niamh Kelly
Email – n.kelly@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 9034

College Head of HR, College of Social Sciences
Sally Steele
Email - s.l.steele@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 7347

Head of HR, Corporate Services
Bal Bansal
Email - b.bansal@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3416

Head of HR Services
Alison Jinks
Email - a.jinks@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 8934