International Women's Day 2021

International Women's Day is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women and the theme for 2021 is “Choose To Challenge”. Our programme of events which takes place throughout March is listed on this page, where you will also find details of our social media campaign and an inspiring video to enjoy.

Thank you to all the staff and students who have been involved  in putting together such an excellent programme and to our alumnae for your fantastic support. We hope you enjoy the programme and thank you in advance for taking part!

The EDI Team

Event timetable
DateTimeEvent 

1 - 31 March

 

Cadbury Research Library Archives:

  • Women in the Cadbury Research Library Collections
  • Women behind 'Save the Children Fund'

1 - 31

March

 

Back(stitch) to the future - a collaborative art project

1 - 31 

March

 

College of Engineering and Physical Sciences events programme

9 March 

 

14:00
UK time

18:00
UAE time

 

Choose to Challenge: Celebrating women’s achievements across the UAE

7 March

 

 

12:00
UK time

16:00
UAE time

 

Shifting Sand Dunes- poetry recital and reflections by some UAE based female poets

4 March

12:30
UK time

16:30
UAE time

 

The Human Library: we are the same. We are different.

8 March

13:00 - 14.15

Choosing to Challenge: Stories from the front line
8 March  TBC Our health matters, period: Inequity in Women’s Health – a case study
8 March

12:00 - 13:00

16:00-17:00 UAE time

HEFi Lunch and Learn - International Women's Day

10 March 12:00 - 14:00 Menopause Cafe
8 and 10 March 14:00  

UoB International Women’s day 2021 SHE Engineers

8 March 13:00 - 14:00 Choose To Challenge with Amazin LêThi
8 March 11:30 - 12:30

 

Women in STEM; An alumni talk with Sandeep Sandhu

 

11 March

16:00 - 17:00 GST

12:00 - 13:00 GMT

 

University of Birmingham Dubai Me in Three

 

11 March

12:30 - 13:30

Women who challenge – making your passion your job

12 March  12:30 - 13:30

Me in 3: My path to career success - the highs, the lows and everything in between

30 March  13:00 -14:30  

CAL Inclusivity Projects and Women’s Network Pride not Prejudice International Women’s Day Event

31 March 13:00 - 14:00 Women's History Month Book Club
International Women's Day logo

International Women’s Day falls on Monday 8 March and to celebrate the diversity of experience of our alumnae, staff and students we will be running a new social media campaign on the day.

We are approaching alumnae individually to take part and would love it if you would join the conversation. We will be asking people to share the UoBwomen that inspire them by tagging them in post on our FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn accounts on the day. The posts will go live at 09:00 and if you're joining us on Instagram we will be sharing a story template for you to use.

Whether it’s a member of staff that made an impact to you or a friend you met while at University that is doing something amazing, help us to celebrate the amazing UoBwomen around the world and spread some kindness during this difficult time.

The World is Changing