Group Members

Group photoshopped


Professor Paula Mendes

Post Doc Members 

 Dr Stefano Tommasone


Dr Stefano Tommasone
Organic Chemistry and Bionanotechnology (2016)

  • PhD in Chemistry (Organic & Supramolecular Chemistry), University of Salerno, Italy
  • BSc, MSc in Chemistry, University of Salerno, Italy
 Dr Joshua Simon Gibson


Dr Joshua Simon Gibson 
Switchable surfaces and molecular sensors (2017)

  • Teaching Fellow in Physical Chemistry, University of Nottingham
  • PhD in Chemistry (Surface Science), University of Nottingham
  • MSci in Chemistry and Molecular Physics, University of Nottingham
 Dr Marcos Fernandez-Villamarin



Dr Marcos Fernandez-Villamarin 
Molecular imprinting of nanoparticles (2018)

  • PhD in Chemistry, University of Santiago de Compostela

Francia Allabush

Dr Francia Allabush 
Modification of DNA aptamers for sensing applications   (2018)

  • PhD in Chemistry, University of Birmingham
  • MChem in Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry, University of Warwick
  • Placement project, University of Tasmania
  • Research Chemist, MacDermid
 Setareh Vafaei

Dr Setareh Vafaei
Sensing and Catalytic Amplification in Lipid Vesicles (2019)

  • PhD in Materials Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • BSc in Cellular and Molecular Biology (Microbiology), Azad University, Iran
 Seyed Tabaei


Dr Seyed Tabaei,
Marie-Curie Fellow Lipid-Based Platform Design, Molecular Imprinting (2019)

  • PhD in Biological Sciences, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • MSc in Bio-Technology, Lund University of Technology, Sweden
  • BSc in Chemical Engineering, Sharif University of Technology, Iran
 Craig Ward-v2


Dr Craig Ward
Molecularly imprinted nanoparticles for detection of prostate cancer (2019)

  • PhD in Chemistry (Bionanotechnology) - University of Strathclyde
  • MChem in Chemistry - University of Strathclyde
  • Industrial placement - Hunstman Polyurethanes, Everberg, Belgium
 Nasim Mahmoodi


Dr Nasim Mahmoodi  
The effect of vibration on bacteria (2018)

  • PhD in Mechanical Engineering (micro-engineering and nanotechnology), University of Birmingham
  • MEng in Mechanical (biomedical) Engineering, University of Birmingham

PhD Students

 james s walker

James S. Walker
Polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (2014)

  • MChem in Pure and Applied Chemistry, University of Strathclyde
  • Erasmus, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
  • Industrial placement, Merck KGaA  
 Giuseppe Palma


Giuseppe Di Palma 
Supramolecular Surfaces for Protein Immobilization (2015)

  • Master’s Degree in Nanoscience & Nanotechnology, University of Barcelona, Spain. 
  • Erasmus Project, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Seville, Spain 
  • Master’s Degree in Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Salerno, Italy. 
 Kamlesh Patel


Kamlesh Patel
Development of diagnostic technology for the differentiation of sterile and non-sterile inflammation (2015) 

  •  MSc in Physical Sciences for Health - University of Birmingham

  • BEng in Computer Science with Software Engineering - University of Birmingham
 Joshua Norman-v2


Joshua Norman
New point of care diagnostics for prostate cancer biomarkers – boronic acids (2016)

  • MRes (structural biology): Regulation of DLC1 in adhesion through protein-protein interactions
  • BSc(hons) Applied biomedical science
 Barbara Simoes


Barbara Simoes 
Smart Switchable Biological Surfaces for On-demand Biosensing (2017)

  • MSc in Bioengineering and Nanosystems (Technical University of Lisbon – Portugal; University of Twente - Netherlands)  
  • IAESTE Internship in Nanotechnologies - AFM at Leuphana University – Germany 
  • BSc in Sciences of Engineering – Chemical Engineering (Technical University of Lisbon - Portugal)  
 Yazmin Kaur Tagger


Yazmin Kaur Tagger  
New point of care diagnostic technology for cancer biomarkers- benzoboroxoles (2016)

  • MRes Cancer Science, University of Birmingham
  • BSc Pharmaceutical Science, University of Wolverhampton
 Alice Pasquale


Alice Di Pasquale
Smart Switchable Biological Surfaces for On-demand Biosensing (2017)

  • Erasmus UCL School of Pharmacy in London
  • Master’s degree Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Technology University of Trieste 
 Laura Brooks


Laura Brooks
Molecularly Imprinted Nanoparticles for Selective Glycan Detection

  • MChem in Chemistry – Cardiff University
 Laura Buccoli


Laura Buccoli
Surface-Confined Molecular Logic Gates For Sensing

  • Esrasmus at Akademia im. Jana Długosza w Częstochowie
  • Masters in Chemical Science (university of Cagliari)
 Pushpa Patel


Pushpa Patel
Evaluation of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC) nanocatalyst on platelets (2018)

  • MSc by Research in Molecular Pharmacology, Coventry University
  • BSc (Hons) Biological Sciences, Coventry University
 Dario Bazzoli


Dario Bazzoli
The effect of vibration on bacteria (2018)

  • Bachelor degree in general chemistry at the Università degli studi di Milano
  • Master degree in Computational/Inorganic molecular chemistry at the École Normale Supérieure de Paris and UPMC Sorbonne Université

Past Members

PhD Students

Cait Costello
Oliver Curnick
Alice Pranzetti
Gaurav Gupta
Minhaj Lashkor
Zarrar Hussein
Nga Yip
Eleonora Cantini
Monika Köpf
Fatima Zia
Barbara Gomes
Philippa Mitchell
Francia Allabush 

Research Fellows

Dr Paul Yeung (former PhD student)
Dr Frankie Rawson
Dr Parvez Iqbal
Dr Alex Stephenson-Brown
Dr Aaron Acton
Dr Lewis Hart
Dr Eduardo Anaya-Plaza