THE EAHMH book award 2019

The EAHMH book award is granted to the best medical history monograph published in the two years preceding the EAHMH biennial conference.

For the 2019 award, books published during 2017-18 inclusive will be eligible. Nominated books can be on any medical history topic concerning Europe or Europe's relationship with the wider world. The award reflects the strong commitment of the EAHMH to new approaches to medical historiography. Books may be nominated by anyone, including publishers, EAHMH members and authors themselves. Books considered for one prize will not automatically be considered for the next and need to be re-nominated each time within the period of eligibility. Edited volumes, as well as works with three or more authors, are not eligible. In case the award-winning book is written in a language other than English, the Scientific Board of the EAHMH will provide advice for promoting it in English.

The EAHMH book award is sponsored by the Dutch Stichting Historia Medicinae and the German Robert Bosch Stiftung.

How to enter 

Books can be nominated until March 1st, 2019

Publishers should send a copy of the books to be considered to each member of the Jury (so three books in total):

Professor Laurinda Abreu, chairperson
Departamento de História/Universidade de Évora
Largo dos Colegiais, 2
7000 Évora

Professor Robert Jütte
Leiter des Instituts für Geschichte der Medizin der Robert Bosch Stiftung
Straussweg 17
D-70184 Stuttgart

Professor Jonathan Reinarz
Room 140, Murray Learning Centre
Institute of Applied Healthcare Research
College of Medical and Dental Sciences
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston, Birmingham, UK
B15 2TT