The EAHMH Book Award 2021

The EAHMH book award is granted to the best medical history monograph published in the two years preceding the EAHMH biennial conference.

For the 2021 award, books published during 2019-20 will be eligible. Nominated books can be on any medical history topic concerning Europe or Europe's relationship with the wider world. The award reflects the strong commitment of the EAHMH to new approaches to medical historiography. Books may be nominated by anyone, including publishers, EAHMH members and authors themselves. Books considered for one prize will not automatically be considered for the next and need to be re-nominated each time within the period of eligibility. Edited volumes, as well as works with three or more authors, are not eligible. In case the award-winning book is written in a language other than English, the Scientific Board of the EAHMH will provide advice for promoting it in English.

The EAHMH book award is sponsored by the Dutch Stichting Historia Medicinae.

How to enter 

Books can be nominated until May 1st, 2021. Publishers should send a copy of the books to be considered to each member of the Jury (so three books in total):

Professor Anne Kveim Lie
Department of Health and Society
University of Oslo
Pb 1130 Blindern
0317 Oslo

Professor Kaat Wils
Research Group Cultural History since 1750
Faculty of Arts – University of Leuven
PB 3307 Blijde Inkomststraat 21
3000 Leuven

Dr Vasia Lekka
47-49 Spirou Trikoupi Street
106 83 Athens