Our staff

Principal investigators involved in liver research 

Professor Philip Newsome

Professor Philip Newsome

Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Hon Consultant Hepatologist. Director of the Centre for Liver and Gastrointestinal Research
Director of the Midlands & Wales Advanced Therapy Treatment Centre. Deputy Director of the NIHR Birmingham Biomedical Research Centre
Vice-Secretary of the European Association for the Study of the Liver

Institute of Immunology and Immunotherapy

Philip Newsome is Professor of Experimental Hepatology and Director of the Centre for Liver and Gastrointestinal Research as well as Director of the Midlands and Wales Advanced Therapy Treatment Centre. 

Philip has published over 100 major research papers in scientific journals as well as reviews and book chapters in the fields of stromal cell biology and liver disease. He has received ...

Telephone
+44 (0)121 415 8700/+44 (0)121 414 5614
Email
p.n.newsome@bham.ac.uk

Simon Afford s.c.afford@bham.ac.uk Reader

Stuart Curbishley s.m.curbishley@bham.ac.uk NHIR senior scientist

Bridget Gunson b.k.gunson@bham.ac.uk BRU manager

Gideon Hirschfield g.hirschfield@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Patricia Lalor p.f.lalor@bham.ac.uk Senior Lecturer

Ye Htun Oo y.h.oo@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Gary Reynolds g.m.reynolds@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Shishir Shetty s.shetty@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Zania Stamataki z.stamataki@bham.ac.uk Intermediate Fellow

Christopher Weston c.j.weston@bham.ac.uk Senior Research Fellow

Dalan Bailey d.bailey@bham.ac.uk ACF