Contact us

Photo of hands at a compuoter keyboard.

Postal address

Research and Knowledge Transfer Office
Medical School
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston
B15 2TT

E: rktoffice@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @UOB_MDSRKTO

Office roles and contact details

Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer: Prof Paul Moss
E: p.moss@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 2824 

Head of Research and Knowledge Transfer: Dr Kate Bishop
E: k.bishop@bham.ac.uk  T: 0121 414 3115   

Research and Knowledge Transfer Executive Assistant: Ms Geraldine Dora
E: g.dora@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 7612 

Research and Knowledge Transfer Office Secretary: Ms Yvonne Dawson
E: y.dawson@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4054

College Research Support Administrator (Post Award): 
currently vacant

Research Development Team

The Research Development Team provides strategic input, support for research funding applications, approvals, implementation and management processes, and includes a growing team of specialised administrative/research management staff.

Research Support Partner: Dr Georgina Drury
E: g.e.drury@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8010

Senior Research Facilitator (Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences and Institute of Inflammation and Ageing): Dr Rachel Bruton
E: r.k.bruton@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8557 

Senior Research Facilitator (Institute of Applied Health Research, Clinical Trials): 
Dr Holly Smith                                                                                                                                                                          E: h.smith.2@bham.ac.uk  T: 0121 414 6976                                                       

Senior Research Facilitator (Institute of Immunology and Inflammation and Institute of Microbiology and Infection): Mrs Jackie Hawkins
E: j.o.hawkins@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 3094  

Senior Research Facilitator (Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences and Institute of Metabolism & Systems Research): Dr Pete Noy 
E:  p.j.noy@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9035/0121 466 5522 

Senior Research Facilitator (Institute of Clinical Sciences): Dr Sohini Chakrabortee 
E: s.chakrabortee@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8504/8557

College Research Support Administrator: Ms Emma Channell
E: e.l.channell@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9094 

Clinical Research Compliance Team

The clinical research compliance team is responsible for developing an infrastructure for researchers involved in clinical trials. The team also takes on responsibilities relating to sponsor oversight such as audits and quality checks.

Head of Clinical Research Compliance: Mrs Wilma Van Riel
E: w.c.vanriel@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9050

Director of the Advanced Therapies Facility (ATF):  Dr Jane Steele
E: j.c.steele@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8776 (Mrs Leigh Challinor)

Governance Support Officer: Mrs Leigh Challinor
E: l.challinor@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8776

Clinical Trials Compliance Officer: Mrs Katie Stant
E: k.e.stant@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 7756

Clinical Trials Compliance Officer: Mr Conor McGoldrick
E: c.mcgoldrick@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6894

Clinical Trials Monitor: Mr Mehboob Chilwan
E: m.chilwan@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9223

Postgraduate and Postdoctoral Training and Development (PERCAT)

The postgraduate, training and development team incorporates the College’s Graduate School and has the primary responsibility for the management and development of postgraduate research and taught programmes across the College. The team also provides dedicated support to the Head of Clinical Academic Training and works with the Head of Postdoctoral Training and Career Development.

Acting Operations Manager (Postgraduate Programmes): Rachel Howes
E: r.howes@bham.ac.uk T +44 (0)121 414 8203

Clinical Academic Training Manager: Mrs Charlotte Maybury
E: c.maybury@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6886

PERCAT Projects Manager: Ms Lesley Bodenham
E: l.h.bodenham@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 2967

Postgraduate Administrator (AHR, Nursing & MRes Clinical Health Research): Cat Taylor
E: c.c.taylor@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8694

Postgraduate Administrator (ICS IMSR): Viktorija Ziabliceva
E: v.ziabliceva@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8780

Business Engagement and Technology Transfer Team

The Technology Transfer Team promotes translational aspects of research across the College, and provides support to all Schools in developing and exploiting the commercial potential of research.

Business Engagement Partner (MDS): Mrs Anne Simper
E: a.simper@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4056

Business Engagement Partner (MDS): Ms Cathy Wardius
E: c.a.wardius@bham.ac.uk T:  01214149102

Business Engagement Officer (MDS): Ms Jess Stede                                                                                                        E: j.stede@bham.ac.uk

Acting Technology Transfer Officer: Ryan Brown
E: r.m.brown.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8043 

Partnership Management and International Engagement Team

The Partnership Management Team provides a wide variety of support for strategic research projects and programmes within the College, including those that involve national and international partners. 

Acting Strategic Project Manager:  Claire Fenlon
E: c.m.fenlon@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8043

Strategic Project Officer: Mrs Linda Briscoe
E: l.a.briscoe@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8112

MRC-ARUK Centre for Musculoskeletal Ageing Research Centre Facilitator: Dr Lisa Fuller
E: l.fuller.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8114

Inflammation Project Manager: Mrs Rebecca Birch
E: r.birch@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8115

Project Manager: Dr Daniel Mekic
E: d.mekic@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8110

research-handbook-cover-linkfollow-graphic            Blog-Button