People in CHASM

CHASM is based jointly in the School of Social Policy and the Birmingham Business School within the College of Social Sciences.

Director of CHASM

Professor Andy Lymer

Professor of Accounting and Taxation, Birmingham Business School

Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6677
Email: a.m.lymer@bham.ac.uk

View Andy's full profile

Andy Lymer profile image

Deputy Director of CHASM

Professor Karen Rowlingson

Professor of Social Policy, School of Social Policy

Telephone: +44 (0)121 415 8565
Email: k.rowlingson@bham.ac.uk

Professor Karen Rowlingson

Professor Karen Rowlingson

Core members of CHASM

Professor Peter Davies

Professor of Education Policy Research, School of Education

Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 4820
Email: p.davies.1@bham.ac.uk

View Peter's full profile


Dr Amalia Di Girolamo

Lecturer in Experimental Economics, Birmingham Business School

Telephone: +44(0)121 415 8215
Email: a.digirolamo@bham.ac.uk

View Amalia's full profile

Dr Amalia Di Girolamo

Dr James Gregory

Senior Research Fellow, School of Social Policy

Telephone: +44(0)121 414 6212
Email: j.gregory@bham.ac.uk

View James' full profile

james-gregory-300x300-new

Dr Lee Gregory

Lecturer in Social Policy, School of Social Policy

Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 5715
Email: l.j.gregory@bham.ac.uk

View Lee's full profile

Lee Gregory

Professor Andrew Mullineaux

Professor of Financial Economics, Birmingham Business School

Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 5990
Email: a.w.mullineux@bham.ac.uk

View Andrew's full profile

Andy Mullineux profile image

Dr Louise Overton

Lecturer in Social Policy, School of Social Policy

Telephone: +44(0)121 415 1066
Email: l.e.overton@bham.ac.uk

View Louise's full profile

silhouette

Professor Richard Ronald

Professor of Housing and Social Change, School of Social Policy

Telephone: +44(0)121 414 8564
Email: r.ronald@bham.ac.uk

View Richard's full profile

Richard Ronald

Professor Kimberley Scharf

Professor of Economics, Birmingham Business School

Email: k.scharf@bham.ac.uk

View Kimberley's full profile

silhouette

Professor Penelope Tuck

Professor of Accounting, Public Finance and Policy, Birmingham Business School

Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 2699
Email: p.a.l.tuck@bham.ac.uk

View Penelope's full profile

Penelope Tuck

Interns in CHASM

Jessica Hughes

Supervisor: Dr James Gregory

I am a third year human geography student with an interest in social justice. During my internship at CHASM I will be helping with a research project about how attitudes towards social housing differ in areas with different quantities of social housing. I applied to this internship because my degree and other work experience which I have undertaken has made me aware of the significance of attitudes, for example in shaping policies, influencing politics and affecting people's lives. I therefore think that any research, which improves understandings of attitudes, is important so I am excited to be a part of it and am looking forward to learning more about this topic and the research process in general.

Jessica Hughes

Sam Palmer

Supervisor: Professor Andy Lymer

As an economics student in my penultimate year of study, I am starting to encounter more and more practical issues. The days of studying textbook examples are nearly over, and the real world is calling. As an international student from the United States, I decided to come to England in the hopes I would be able to experience the effects Brexit has on day to day life. Whether it be the noticeable decrease in purchasing power or the record high inflation on certain household goods, the effects can be quite apparent. CHASM has given me the opportunity to study aspects like this in more detail, especially since the spending patterns of individuals have the possibility to change significantly.

Sam Palmer