Meet the team

Principal investigators

Dr Paul Badenhorst

Dr Paul Badenhorst

Associate Professor

Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences

Paul Badenhorst is an Associate Professor in the Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences.

Paul’s field of expertise is in Epigenetics and Development. Paul uses both the Drosophila model system and human cells to investigate how chromatin modifying complexes regulate gene expression to control developmental pathways. He has received major grant funding from Cancer Research UK, the ...

Telephone
+44 (0)121 414 6810
Email
p.w.badenhorst@bham.ac.uk

Dr Yun Fan

Dr Yun Fan

Senior Lecturer in Cell and Developmental Genetics

School of Biosciences

Dr Fan’s research interest centres on understanding how cell death, cell proliferation and cell differentiation are coordinated to maintain tissue homeostasis.  This has important implications for cancer development and tissue regeneration.  

Telephone
+44 (0)121 41 48513
Email
y.fan@bham.ac.uk

Professor Alicia Hidalgo

Professor Alicia Hidalgo

Professor of Neurogenetics

School of Biosciences

Alicia Hidalgo - Research in 60 seconds video

Our lab aims to understand structural plasticity of the nervous system: in development, regeneration and repair. That is, what is the link between structure and function in the brain? How does the brain change as we grow, learn and age? What happens in nervous system injury and disease, and how can we promote regeneration and repair?

Find out more from our website

Telephone
+44 (0)121 41 45416
Email
a.hidalgo@bham.ac.uk

Dr Carolina Rezaval

Dr Carolina Rezaval

Birmingham Fellow - Group leader

School of Biosciences

Our lab uses the fruit fly Drosophila to unravel the mechanisms underlying behavioural choices. By studying how the brain makes decisions at a genetic, cellular and circuit level, in an accessible experimental system, we aim to reveal fundamental principles that might be present across species.

Find out more from our website

Email
c.rezaval@bham.ac.uk

Dr Matthias Soller

Dr Matthias Soller

Senior Lecturer

School of Biosciences

My prime research interest is how the information encoded in chromosomes instructs building of the most complex organ, the brain, and allows an organism to perform elaborate tasks.

Telephone
+44 (0)121 41 45905
Email
m.soller@bham.ac.uk

Fly Facility Kitchen Team

Shrikant Jondhale

Fly Facility Technician Manager

Shrikant Jondhale (School of Biosciences, LES)

For fly-products related enquiries, please contact Mr Jondhale or the Principal Investigators above.

 

 

Fly Facility Kitchen Team members

Susan Burrill: S.J.Burrill@bham.ac.uk

Faduma Egeh: F.Egeh@bham.ac.uk